Music by Guy Woolfenden of the Royal Shakespeare Company

Music by Guy Woolfenden of the Royal Shakespeare Company for:
Much Ado About Nothing, The Revenger's Tragedy, Doctor Faustus, Romeo and Juliet, The Taming of the Shrew, King Lear
Royal Shakespeare Wind Band - Guy Woolfenden, dir.
Abbey LPS 657


    Shakespeare / Guy Woolfenden: Much Ado About Nothing
  1. March (1:56)
  2. Song: "Sigh no more, ladies" (2:07)
  3. The Military Masque (1:40)
  4. Dance Sequence Act II Scene 1 (6:32)
  5. Song: "Pardon, Goddess of the Night" (1:43)
  6. Music for the Arbour Scene (1:10)
  7. Final Dance and March

  8. Christopher Marlowe / Guy Woolfenden: Doctor Faustus
  9. The Opening Music (0:41)
  10. Papal Procession (1:14)
  11. Helen of Troy (1:59)
  12. Danse Macabre (2:25)

  13. -----
    Shakespeare / Guy Woolfenden: King Lear
  14. The Opening Procession (1:47)
  15. Lear's Awakening (2:20)

  16. Shakespeare / Guy Woolfenden: The Taming of the Shrew
  17. The Players' Flourish (0:41)
  18. The Opening Mime Sequence (1:52)
  19. Christopher Sly's Music (1:10)
  20. The Wedding March and Dance (2:50)

  21. Shakespeare / Guy Woolfenden: Romeo and Juliet
  22. The Ball Scene: First Dance
    The Ball Scene: Romeo and Juliet's Dance (4:13)
  23. Serenade (1:06)

  24. Cyril Tourneur / Guy Woolfenden: The Revenger's Tragedy
  25. The Opening Masque (2:00)
  26. The Music for the Lodge Scene (4:47)
  27. Music for the Villains' Scene I (0:53)
  28. Music for the Villains' Scene II (1:45)
  29. Coronation Procession (1:08)

Playing time: ??' ??" (Individual timing by stop-watch)

Music by Guy Woolfenden of the Royal Shakespeare Company
The Royal Shakespeare Wind Band [Adrian Brett (flute, recorder), William Grant (oboe, cor anglais), Edward Watson (clarinet), Roger Hellyer (bassoon), David Munrow (crumhorn, rauschpfeiffe), Derek Oldfield (horn), Peter Morris (horn), Robert Pritchard (trumpet), Gordon Bennett (trumpet), Trevor Green (trumpet), Gareth Richards (trombone), Robin Wetherall (percussion), Brian Heritage (timpani), Michael Tubbs (organ, harpsichord)] & Martin Best (solo voice # 2), David Firth (solo voice #4) - Guy Woolfenden, dir.

Recording site and date:
Methodist Church Hall, Stratford-upon-Avon [11-12/1968]; rel.: 1969

Reviewed in:
Diapason (#-p.):
Gramophone (Vol./#-p.):

Information from Matthew B. Tepper's owned LP.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Pierre-F. Roberge