Henry Purcell, vol. 1

Henry Purcell - Celebrated Songs, vol. 1
Sacred Airs - Concert Pieces for Strings and Harpsichord
George Malcolm, Neville Marriner, Peter Gibbs, Granville Jones, Desmond Dupré, Alfred Deller, Walter Bergman, April Cantelo, Maurice Bevan
Amadeo AVR 6160 [LP, mono, Continental Europe]
Amadeo AVRS 6160 [LP, stereo, Continental Europe]
Amadeo AVRS 12065 [LP, Continental Europe]


    Henry Purcell:
  1. Fantasia upon a ground in D Minor, 3 violins and continuo, Z. 731

  2. Henry Purcell (m) / J. Dryden & N. Lee (t): Oedipus (1692), Z. 583 (arr.: Tippett & Bergmann)
  3. Song: Music for a while

  4. Henry Purcell: The Old Bachelor (1693), Z. T685
  5. Hornpipe in E Minor

  6. Henry Purcell:
  7. I love and I must, Z. 382

  8. Henry Purcell (m) / D'Urfey (t): The Comical History of Don Quixote, Part I (1694), Z. 578
  9. Let the Dreadful Engines

  10. Henry Purcell: The Fairy Queen (1692), Z. 629, adapted from Shakespeare "A Midsummer Night's Dream" (arr.: Tippett & Bergmann)
  11. Epithalamium (Thrice happy lovers)

  12. Henry Purcell: Suite in D for Harpsichord, Z. 667
  13. 1. Prelude
    2. Almand
    3. Hornpipe

  14. ----
    Henry Purcell (m) / H. Heveningham (t) (arr. Tippett & Bergmann)
  15. Song: If music be the food of love (1st version, 1692), Z. 379A

  16. Henry Purcell: Ten Sonata in Four Parts (c. 1680)
  17. Sonata No. 9 in F (Golden Sonata), Z. 810
    1. Allegro
    2. Adagio
    3. Canzona Allegro
    4. Grave
    5. Allegro

  18. Henry Purcell (m) / N. Tate (t)
  19. The Blessed Virgin's Expostulation (Tell Me, Some Pityng Angel) (1693), Z. 186

  20. Henry Purcell
  21. Pavan in G Minor for 3 violins and viola da gamba (c. 1680), Z. 752

  22. Henry Purcell
  23. Not All My Torments, Z. 400

  24. Henry Purcell (m) / F. Quarles (t)
  25. Upon a quiet conscience (Close Thine Eyes and Sleep Secure) (1688), Z. 184

Playing time: 56' 38"

[1] George Malcolm (harpsichord), Neville Marriner (violin), Peter Gibbs (violin), Granville Jones (violin), Desmond Dupré (viola di gamba)
[2], [6], [8], [12] Alfred Deller (counter-tenor), Walter Bergman (harpsichord)
[3], [7] George Malcolm (harpsichord)
[4], [10], [13] George Malcolm (harpsichord), April Cantelo (soprano)
[5] George Malcolm (harpsichord), Maurice Bevan (baritone)
[9], [11] George Malcolm (harpsichord), Neville Marriner (violin), Peter Gibbs (violin), Desmond Dupré (viola di gamba)

Recording site and date:
Walthamstow Hall, London, U.K. [1957 and prior]

Compilations (initial release):
Vanguard "The Bach Guild" BG-570 / 71 [LPx2] Homage to Purcell

Reviewed in:
Diapason (#-p.):
Gramophone (Vol./#-p.):
Fanfare (Vol./#-p.):

In Europe it appears that American double LP release (see compilation) was released in Europe as two separate releases; this one and Amadeo AVR 6161 [LP] Henry Purcell - Celebrated Songs, vol. 2.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Pierre-F. Roberge