Jacques Moderne - Musicque de Ioye (1550)

Musicque de Ioye
Hespèrion XX - Jordi Savall
Telefunken "Das Alte Werk" AW6 42362 [LP]
Astrée AS 37 [LP]
Astrée CAS 37 [Cass.]
Astrée (Auvidis) E 7724 [CD]
Astrée (Auvidis) AS5 7724 [Cass.]
Astrée (Naïve) « Musica Gallica » ES 9966 [CD]


    Jacques Moderne, ed., ca 1550

  1. Bassedance 7

  2. Anon.
  3. Tordion 8

  4. Roquelay
  5. Ta bonne grace

  6. Anon.
  7. Bassedanse 1 « Ta bonne grace »

  8. Anon.
  9. Tordion 2

  10. Julius de Modena
  11. Ricercare XIII
  12. Ricercare XXII
  13. Ricercare XVI
  14. Ricercare V

  15. Clément Janequin
  16. Il estoit une fillette

  17. Anon.
  18. Pavane 13 « La Gaiette »

  19. Anon.
  20. Pavane 14

  21. Anon.
  22. Gailarde 15

  23. ----
    Gabriel Costa
  24. Ricercare XXIV

  25. Julius de Modena or Cabezon ?
  26. Ricercare XVII

  27. Adrian Willaert
  28. Ricercare IV

  29. Pierre Sandrin
  30. Helas amy

  31. Anon.
  32. Bassedanse 5 « Hellas amy »

  33. Anon.
  34. Tordion 6

  35. Anon.
  36. Pavane 11 « La Bataille »

  37. Julius de Modena
  38. Ricercare VIII
  39. Ricercare X

  40. Hieronimus Parabosco
  41. Ricercare XIV « Da pacem domine »

  42. Anon.
  43. Branle simple 22
  44. Branle de Bourgoigne 23

  45. Claude Gervaise
  46. Branle de bourgoigne 17

Playing time: 57' 45"

Hespèrion XX
Montserrat Figueras (voice), Jordi Savall (treble viol), Christophe Coin (alto viol), Ariane Maurette (tenor viol), Pere Ros (bass viol, violone), Masako Hirao (bass viol), Roberto Gini (bass viol, percussion), Jeanette van Wingerden (recorders), Lorenzo Alpert (recorders, shawm, percussion), Gabriel Garrido (recorders, shawm, percussion), Sabine Weil (recorders), Bruce Dickey (cornet), Nils Ferber (shawm), Philippe Suzanne (flute), Hopkinson Smith (lute, Renaissance guitar), Ton Koopman (spinet)
Jordi Savall dir.

Recording site and date:
Church of Nenzlingen, Switzerland [01/1978];
Rel.: 1978 [AS], 1987 (E), 1989 (AS5), 2001 (ES)

Astrée (Naïve) E 8871 [CDx4] Renaissance

Reviewed in:
Diapason (#-p.): 331-172 (october 1987)
Fanfare (Vol./#-p.):
Gramophone (Vol./#-p.):

Information from LP, CD and Bruno Cornec.

Pierre-F. Roberge

This disc proposes a set of works edited by Jacques Moderne, illustrating Renaissance songs and dances from Italy and France.

These dances are perfectly played with a great variety of timbres, and a great respect for dance tempi. I personaly learned to dance on some of them, so they are really adapted in this interpretation to the dance. The fabulous voice of Montserrat Figueras adds to the magic of the sounds when she sings. My preferred tracks are here the coupled Pavan and Gaillard 13 and 14 (Track 11 and 12). An accurate sense of nobleness for the pavan, with the viol consort underlined by the sober percussion, and which renders the procession of the dancers. A good vivacity for the shawns in the gaillard, figuring the male dancers showing their agility. An already old CD, which announced the richness and variety of the works played by Hespèrion XX and Jordi Savall, during the 80's and 90's.

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Bruno Cornec