Venice Preserved

Venice Preserved
His Majesties Sagbutts and Cornetts, Gentlemen of the Chappell, Peter Bassano, conductor


  1. Giovanni Gabrieli: Canzon septimi toni
  2. Giovanni Gabrieli: Omnes gentes
  3. Augustine Bassano: Pavan
  4. Giovanni Bassano: Canite tuba
  5. Jeronimo Bassano: Fantasia a 5/3
  6. Giovanni Bassano: Divisions of "Frais et galliard"
  7. Giovanni Bassano: Deus qui beatum Marcum
  8. Giovanni Gabrieli: Canzon duodecimi toni a 10
  9. Giovanni Gabrieli: O Magnum mysterium
  10. Claudio Monteverdi: Confitebor tibi
  11. Jeronimo Bassano: Fantasia a 5/1
  12. Giovanni Gabrieli: O Domine Jesu Christe
  13. Andrea Gabrieli: Jubilate Deo
  14. Giovanni Gabrieli: Sonata pian e forte
  15. Claudio Monteverdi: Beatus vir

Performers: Emily van Evera, Lucinda Houghton, Susan Hemington-Jones, and Ghislaine Morgan: sopranos; David Hurley and Nigel Short: counter tenors; Simon Berridge, Tom Philips, Angus Smith, and Jeremy Taylor, tenors; Stephen Charlesworth, Charles Pott, Christopher Purves, and Richard savage, basses; Jeremy West, David Staff, and Nicholas Perry: cornetts; Susan Addison: alto and tenor sackbuts; Peter Bassano, Paul Nieman, Richard Cheetham, and Peter Thorley: tenor sackbuts; Martin Pope and Stephen Saunders, bass sackbuts; Pauline Nobes and Frances Turner: violins; Richard Campbell: cello; William Hunt: violone; Jakob Lindberg: chittarone; Alistair Ross and Timothy Roberts, chamber organs

Playing time: 61'58"

Recorded c. 1990 All Hallows Church, Gospel Oak, London

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Frank Cone