Fayrfax: Missa Tecum principium

Fayrfax: Missa Tecum principium / Maria plena virtute
The Cardinall's Musick - Andrew Carwood / David Skinner
AS&V Gaudeamus 145


  1. Tecum principium (plainsong)

  2. Missa Tecum principium
  3. Gloria
  4. Credo
  5. Sanctus/Benedictus
  6. Agnus Dei

  7. Music for recorders
  8. Mese tenor
  9. O lux beata trinitas
  10. Paramese tenor
  11. Maria plena virtute

Performers: The Cardinall's Musick: Carys Lane, Rebecca Outram, Olive Simpson (Sopranos); David Gould, Robert Harre-Jones, Michael Lees (Altos); Simon Berridge, Julian Stocker, Matthew Vine (Tenors); Matthew Brook, Robert Evans, Donald Greig (Baritones); Simon Birchall, Robert Macdonald, Michael McCarthy (Basses); The Frideswide Consort (recorders): Caroline Kershaw, Jane Downer, Christine Garratt, Jean McCreery

Playing time: 70'52

Recording date: May 1995

The present recording couples a Christmas mass setting with a large-scale votive antiphon and short instrumental pieces, demonstrating some of the variety of styles cultivated in early sixteenth-century England.

This is Volume 2 of the Cardinall's Musick's series of Fayrfax's complete works.

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Ted Dumitrescu