Ockeghem: Requiem - Missa Fors seulement

Ockeghem: Requiem
& Missa Fors seulement
The Clerk's Group - Edward Wickham, dir.
AS&V "Gaudeamus" CD GAU 168 [CD]


    Johannes Ockeghem: Missa « Fors seulement »
  1. Kyrie
  2. Gloria
  3. Credo

  4. Johannes Ockeghem
  5. Chanson: Fors seulement

  6. Pierre de la Rue
  7. Chanson a 4: Fors seulement

  8. Antoine Brumel
  9. Du tout plongiet / Fors seulement

  10. Johannes Ockeghem « Requiem »
  11. Introitus
  12. Kyrie
  13. Graduale
  14. Tractus
  15. Offertorium

Playing time: 71' 11"

The Clerk's Group
Carys Lane (soprano), Rebecca Outram (soprano), Robin Blaze (alto), William Missin (alto), Stephen Harrold (tenor), Matthew Vine (tenor), Edward Wickham (bass), Jonathan Arnold (bass), Robert Macdonald (bass)
Edward Wickham, dir.

Recording site and date:
St. Andrew's Church, West Wratting, UK [05/1996];
Rel.: 1997

[1]-[4], [7]-[11] Gaudeamus CD GAU 550 [CD] The Ockeghem Collection
[4], [11] Gaudeamus CD GAU 357 [CD] The Essential Ockeghem: Sublime Renaissance Choral Music

Reviewed in:
Diapason (#-p.):
Gramophone (Vol./#-p.):
Fanfare (Vol./#-p.):

Information from CD. The present program opens with a welcome rendition of Ockeghem's Missa Fors seulement, a late 5-part work which survives only as a 3-movement torso. Also included are the original chanson, and two contemporary reworkings of it (Ockeghem did another of his own). Of course, the Requiem is well-known... here they have not tried to force it into any sort of internal consistency.

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Todd M. McComb