Fayrfax: Missa O bone Ihesu

Fayrfax: Missa O bone Ihesu / Salve regina / Magnificat O bone Ihesu
The Cardinall's Musick - Andrew Carwood / David Skinner
AS&V Gaudeamus 184


  1. Salve Regina

  2. Missa O bone Ihesu
  3. Gloria
  4. Credo
  5. Sanctus/Benedictus
  6. Agnus Dei
  7. Most clere of colour
  8. I love, loved, and loved wolde be
  9. Benedicite! What dremyd I?
  10. Magnificat O bone Ihesu

Performers: Carys Lane, Rebecca Outram, Olive Simpson (Sopranos); Patrick Craig, David Gould, Michael Lees (Altos); James Gilchrist, Steven Harrold, Tom Phillips, Julian Stocker, Matthew Vine (Tenors); Robert Evans, Damian O'Keeffe, Charles Pott, Andrew Rupp (Baritones); Nigel Brookes, Robert Macdonald, Michael McCarthy (Basses)

Playing time: 76'16

Recording date: January 1996 (secular songs), May 1996 (Mass and Magnificat), May 1997 (Salve regina)

The mass and magnificat O bone Ihesu were among Fayrfax's most popular works, to judge by their survival rate in manuscripts. They contain much similar musical material (without being based on a cantus firmus), and are apparently related to Fayrfax's setting of the antiphon O bone Ihesu, which survives only in a very incomplete state. The Salve regina, from the Eton Choirbook, is of doubtful authenticity. The secular songs provide a contrast to the large-scale liturgical music with their light three-voiced texture.

This is Volume 4 of the Cardinall's Musick's series of Fayrfax's complete works.

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Ted Dumitrescu