Ockeghem: Missa L'homme armé - Missa Sine Nomine a3

Ockeghem: Missa L'homme armé - Missa Sine Nomine a3
The Clerks' Group - Edward Wickham
AS&V Gaudeamus CD GAU 204 [CD]


    Robert Morton
  1. Il sera pour vous/L'homme armé

  2. Johannes Ockeghem: Missa « L'homme armé »
  3. Kyrie
  4. Gloria
  5. Credo
  6. Sanctus and Benedictus
  7. Agnus Dei

  8. Philippe Basiron
  9. Salve regina

  10. Johannes Ockeghem: Missa « Sine Nomine (a3) »
  11. Kyrie
  12. Gloria
  13. Credo
  14. Sanctus and Benedictus
  15. Agnus Dei

Playing time: 57' 37"

The Clerk's Group
Carys Lane, Rebecca Outram (soprano); Robin Blaze, Lucy Ballard, William Missin (alto); Tom Raskin, Matthew Vine (tenor); Jonathan Arnold, Robert Macdonald, Edward Wickham (bass)
Edward Wickham, dir.

Recording site and date:
St. Andrew's Church, West Wratting, UK [02/1999];
Rel.: 2000

[2]-[6], [8]-[12] Gaudeamus CD GAU 550 [CD] The Ockeghem Collection
[4] Gaudeamus CD GAU 357 [CD] The Essential Ockeghem: Sublime Renaissance Choral Music

Reviewed in:
Fanfare (Vol./#-p.): 24/1- (September/October 2000)

This installment of the Clerks' Group's Ockeghem series features the early L'homme armé mass as well as a more suspiciously attributed 3-voice cycle from the middle of the 15th century. The Salve regina setting is attributed in different sources to Ockeghem and to Philippe Basiron (d.c. 1497), though it was probably composed by the latter.

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Ted Dumitrescu