Leclair: Concertos

Leclair: Concertos
Monica Huggett / Claire Guimond / Arion Ensemble
Atma 2 2143


    Concerto Op. 7 No. 2 in D major
  1. Adagio - Allegro ma non troppo
  2. Adagio
  3. Allegro

  4. Concerto Op. 7 No. 6 in A major
  5. Allegro ma non presto
  6. Aria: Grazioso non troppo adagio
  7. Giga: Allegro

  8. Concerto Op. 7 No. 3 in C major
  9. Allegro
  10. Adagio
  11. Allegro assai

  12. Concerto Op. 10 No. 1 in Bb major
  13. Allegro
  14. Andante
  15. Giga: Allegro ma non troppo

Performers: Monica Huggett (violin), Claire Guimond (flute), Chantal Rémillard (violin), Olivier Brault (violin), Claude Deltell (violin), Jacques-André Houle (violin), Chloé Meyers (violin), Hélène Plouffe (violin), Sophie Rivard (violin), Élisabeth Comtois (viola), Margaret Little (viola), Betsy MacMillan (viol), Susan Napper (cello), Éric Lagacé (bass), François Chabot (theorbo), Hank Knox (harpsichord)

Playing time: 63'

Recording date: March 1998 (Québec)

Leclair's violin concertos were the first published in France, and set a standard for the violin as a concertante instrument. They tend to take the position of opposition between soloist and orchestra. The third concerto in this program is performed in arrangement for flute, as allowed by the score. It is the only Leclair concerto given that designation, and also allows the oboe.

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Todd M. McComb