The Unknown Lover

The Unknown Lover
Songs by Solage and Machaut
Gothic Voices
Avie 2089


  1. Solage: Le Basile (4 voices)
  2. Machaut: Mors sui, se je ne vous voy (2 voices)
  3. Solage: En l'amoureux vergier (3 voices)
  4. Machaut: Quant je sui mis au retour (voice)
  5. Solage: Tres gentil cuer (3 voices)
  6. Solage: Fumeux fume par fumee (3 voices)
  7. Solage: Joieux de cuer (4 voices)
  8. Machaut: Dame se vous m'estes lonteinne (voice)
  9. ? Solage: Adieu vous di (3 voices)
  10. Machaut: Plus dure que un dyamant (2 voices)
  11. Solage: Corps feminin (3 voices)
  12. Solage: S'aincy estoit (3 voices)
  13. Solage: Pluseurs gens (4 voices)
  14. Machaut: Douce dame, tant com vivray (2 voices)
  15. ? Solage: Le mont Aön de Trace (3 voices)
  16. Machaut: Se je souspir parfondement (voice)
  17. Solage: Calextone, qui fut dame (3 voices)
  18. Machaut: Dieus, Biaute, Douceur, Nature (voice)
  19. Solage: Helas! je voy mon cuer (4 voices)

Performers: Catherine King (mezzo-soprano), Steven Harrold (tenor), Julian Podger (tenor), Leigh Nixon (tenor), Stephen Charlesworth (baritone); Jonathan Arnold (bass), Robert Macdonald (bass)

Playing time: 71'

Recording date: February 2006 (Gloucester)

Reviewed in:
Diapason (#-p.): 545-111 (march 2007)
Fanfare (Vol./#-p.): 30/4-226 (march/april 2007)
Gramophone (Vol./#-p.): 84/1012-104 (november 2006)

The program contains all the works attributed to Solage, as well as a couple that may be his on stylistic grounds. All come from the Chantilly Codex, where he is the most-represented composer.

This is the first Gothic Voices recording without the named participation of Christopher Page, although it states the ensemble remains firmly wedded to the principles he established.

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Todd M. McComb