I Sing the Birth

I Sing the Birth
New York Polyphony
Avie AV2141


    Andrew Smith
  1. Veni Redemptor gentium

  2. Anon., Plainchant
  3. Hodie Christus natus est

  4. Giovanni Perluigi da Palestrina
  5. Hodie Christus natus est

  6. Greg., Feast of the Nativity
  7. Puer natus est nobis

  8. Kenneth Leighton
  9. Lully, lulla, thou litlle tiny child

  10. Pérotin
  11. Beata viscera

  12. William Cornysh
  13. Ave Maria Mater Dei

  14. Plainchant
  15. Alma Redemptoris Mater

  16. Trad., Irish, arr. Alexander Craig
  17. The darkest midnight in December

  18. Peter Maxwell Davies
  19. The Fader of Heven

  20. Anon.
  21. Introit: Vox in Rama

  22. Clemens non Papa
  23. Vox in Rama

  24. Anon.
  25. Introit: Vox in Rama (reprise)

  26. Trad., Normandy, arr. New York Polyphony
  27. Away in a manger

  28. Robert Parsons
  29. Ave Maria

  30. Anon., Coventry Carol
  31. Lully, lulla, thow littel tyne child

  32. Plainchant
  33. Ave Maria

  34. Anon, English carol, 15th c.
  35. Lullay, lullow, I saw a swete semly syght

  36. Anon, English carol, 15th c.
  37. Mervele noght, Josep

  38. Richard Smert
  39. Nowell: Dieus wous garde, byewsser

  40. Plainchant
  41. Veni Redemptor gentium

  42. William Byrd
  43. O magnum mysterium

  44. Plainchant
  45. Ecce advenit dominator Dominus

  46. Clemens non Papa
  47. Magi veniunt ab oriente

  48. Andrew Smith
  49. Nunc dimittis

  50. Plainchant
  51. Vox in Rama

Playing time: 60' 55"

New York Polyphony
Geoffrey Dunstan Williams (counter-tenor), Geoffrey Silver (tenor), Scott Dispensa (baritone), Craig Phillips (bass-baritone)
with: Elizabeth Barber (soprano), Ruth Cunningham (soprano), Emilie Williams (alto)

Recording site and date:
St George's Church, Stuyvesant Square, New York, USA [11/2006 & 04-05/2007];
Rel.: 2007

Reviewed in: Fanfare (Vol./#-p.): 31/3-49 (January/February 2008)

Information from CD.

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Pierre-F. Roberge