A Medieval Tapestry

A Medieval Tapestry - Instrumental and Vocal Music from the 12th through the 14th Centuries
The Folger Consort
Bard BDC 1-90 03 [Cassette]
Bard BDCD 1-90 03 [CD]


    Raimbaut de Vaqueiras:
  1. Kalenda Maia

  2. Thibaut, Roi de Navarre:
  3. Deus est ausi comme li pelican

  4. Moniot d'Arras:
  5. Ce fut en mai

  6. Jehannot de Lescurel:
  7. Bietris est mes delis

  8. Hildegard von Bingen:
  9. O Viridissima virga, ave

  10. Anon.:
  11. Lai Markiol

  12. Hildegard von Bingen:
  13. O Ecclesia

  14. Jehannot de Lescurel:
  15. Belle, come liaus amans

  16. Guillaume le Vinier:
  17. Espris d'ire et d'amour

  18. Alfonso el sabio (attr.): Cantigas de Santa Maria
  19. Cantiga 25: Pagar ben pod'o que dever
  20. Cantiga 11: Macar ome per folia
  21. Cantiga 357: Como torc' o dem' os nenbros
  22. Cantiga 47: Virgen Santa Maria, guarda nos

Playing time: 60' 14"

The Folger Consort [Robert Eisenstein (vielle, rebec, recorder), Christopher Kendall (lute harp, mandora), Scott Reiss (recorder, hammerd dulcimer, dumbek, psaltery, bells)] & Johana Arnold (soprano), Tina Chancey (vielle, rebec, kamenj), Nancy Almquist (soprano), Elizabeth Bulkley (soprano)

Recording site and date:
Great Hall of the Folger Shakespeare Library, Washington, D.C. [1990 or earlier]

Re-issue: none

Compilation: none

Excerpts: none

Reviewed in:
Diapason (#-p.):
Gramophone (Vol./#-p.):
Fanfare (Vol./#-p.):

Information from owned CD. A very, very nice CD to listen to; the music and voices are flowing very well. A public performance.

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Pierre-F. Roberge