Robert Jones: Missa Spes nostra

Robert Jones: Missa Spes nostra
Music from the Peterhouse Partbooks, Vol. 4
Blue Heron - Scott Metcalfe
Blue Heron 1005


  1. Nicholas Ludford: Ave cujus conceptio
  2. Sarum chant: Kyrie Deus creator omnium

  3. Jones: Missa Spes nostra
  4. Gloria
  5. Credo
  6. Sanctus
  7. Agnus dei
  8. Robert Hunt: Stabat mater

Performers: Jessica Petrus, Julia Steinbok, Sonja Tengblad, Shari Wilson (trebles); Jennifer Ashe, Pamela Dellal, Martin Near (means); Owen McIntosh, Jason McStoots (contratenors); Michael Barrett, Mark Sprinkle, Sumner Thompson (tenors); Paul Guttry, Steven Hrycelak, David McFerrin (basses)

Playing time: 66'

Recording date: October 2013 (Massachusetts); released: 2015

The manuscript was restored by Nick Sandon. The featured mass cycle is by Robert Jones (fl.1520-35). Robert Hunt is noted only as "early sixteenth century."

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Todd M. McComb