Leclair: Ouvertures et Sonates en Trio

Leclair: Ouvertures et Sonates en Trio, Op.13
Purcell Quartet
Chandos Chaconne 0542


    Ouvertura I in G major
  1. Grave: Staccatto
  2. Allegro
  3. Andante: Dolce
  4. Minuetto - non troppo Allegro: Altro

  5. Sonata I in B minor
  6. Adagio
  7. Allegro
  8. Sarabanda: Largo
  9. Allegro assai

  10. Ouvertura II in D major
  11. Grave: Staccatto
  12. Allegro
  13. Andante: Dolce
  14. Allegro

  15. Sonata II in A major
  16. Largo
  17. Allegro ma non troppo
  18. Largo
  19. Allegro

  20. Ouvertura III in D major
  21. Grave: Staccatto
  22. Allegro
  23. Largo: Dolce
  24. Allegro assai

  25. Sonata III in G minor
  26. Adagio
  27. Allegro ma non troppo
  28. Aria: Gratioso - Altro - Gratioso
  29. Allegro

Performers: Catherine Mackintosh (violin), Catherine Weiss (violin), Richard Boothby (viol), Robert Woolley (harpsichord)

Playing time: 70'

Recording date: February 1993 (Orford)

This program constitutes Leclair's complete Op. 13, published in 1753. It was his final publication before his death. Four of the works are transcriptions, the last overture from that of his opera Scylla et Glaucus, and the three trio sonatas from earlier single violin sonatas. The other overtures may be transcriptions from lost theatre works.

Another Leclair recording by the present ensemble:

Leclair: Sonatas for Strings, Op. 4
Purcell Quartet
Chandos Chaconne 0536

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Todd M. McComb