The Black Dragon

The Black Dragon
Music from the Time of Vlad Dracula (c.1431-76)
Cançonièr CNCD 02 [CD]


    Oswald von Wolkenstein (m) / Michel Beheim (poem)
  1. Von ainem wutrich der hies Trakle walda von der Walachei

  2. Oswald von Wolkenstein
  3. Wol auf wir wellen slafen

  4. Conrad Pauman
  5. Mit ganzem Willen

  6. Anon., 13th c., Hungary
  7. Marian lament: Volek sirolmtudotlon

  8. Anon. folk song, Hunarian/Transylvania
  9. Azt gondoltam, esö esik
  10. Azt gondoltam, esö esik (instr.)

  11. Anon., Transylvania
  12. Dragaicuta

  13. Anon., Moldavia
  14. Estéli imádság

  15. Anon., Bulgaria
  16. Dance: Ugrcinska Ruchenitsa

  17. Anon, 15th c., France
  18. La danse du cleves

  19. Guillaume Dufay
  20. Lamentatio Sanctae Matris Ecclesiae Constantinopolitanae: O tres piteulx

  21. Anon., 15th c., Italy
  22. Amoroso

  23. Ionnis Koukouzelis, (late 14th c.)
  24. Voulgarikon

  25. Anon., Chant for Vespers
  26. Kyrie echechraxa

  27. Anon., Turkish
  28. Taksim

  29. Anon., 14th c., Hungary
  30. Salvator Noster

  31. Oswald von Wolkenstein (m) / Michel Beheim (poem)
  32. Von ainem wutrich (reprise)

Annette Bauer (recorders, bells, voice, lute, percussion), Phoebe Jevtovic (voice), Shira Kammen (vielle, harp, voice), Tim Rayborn (voice, percussion, citole, lauta, tromba marina, 'ud, psaltery)

Playing time: 61' 54"

Recording site and date:
Unknown [2010 or prior];
Rel.: 2010

Reviewed in:
Fanfare (Vol./#-p.): 34/3-194 (January/February 2011)

Information from Fanfare and ensemble website.

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Pierre-F. Roberge