Mass for Christmas

Mass for Christmas
The Columbia University Collegium Musicum - Alexander Blachly, dir.
Collegium Records JE 112 [LP]


    Heinrich Finck
  1. Introit: Puer natus

  2. Plainsong
  3. Kyrie: Clemens rector

  4. Loyset Compère
  5. Gloria: Beata Dei genitrix

  6. Plainsong
  7. Gradual: Viderunt omnes

  8. Heinrich Isaac
  9. Alleluia: Dies sanctificatus

  10. Guillaume Dufay
  11. Sequence: Letabundus exsultet

  12. Loyset Compère
  13. Credo: Hodie nobis

  14. ----
    Loyset Compère
  15. Offertorium: Genuit regem

  16. Loyset Compère: Missa "Nativitas"
  17. Sanctus

  18. Loyset Compère
  19. Post elevationem: Memento salutis auctor

  20. Loyset Compère
  21. Agnus: Quem vidistis pastores

  22. Ludwig Senfl
  23. Communio: Viderunt omnes

  24. W. F., Ms Berlin State Library
  25. Hymn: Dies est leticie
    Anon., Ms Berlin State Library
    Hymn: Dies est leticie
    Anon., Glogauer Liederbuch
    Hymn: Dies est leticie
    Anon., Ms. Trent 88
    Hymn: Dies est leticie
    Anon., Ms. Trent 88
    Hymn: Dies est leticie
    Heinrich Isaac
    Hymn: Dies est leticie

  26. Trad., 15th c. Flemish Carols
  27. Het is een dach der vrolicheit
    Een kyndekyn is ons geboren
    Magnum nomen Domini

  28. Heinrich Finck
  29. Deo dicamus

Playing time: ??' ??"

Performers: The Columbia University Collegium Musicum [Each Collegium Musicum recording consists of 24 to 30 singers and 10 to 15 instrumentalists and may includes as soloists: Constance Cooper (soprano), Josephine Mongiardo (soprano), Imogene Howe (soprano), Louise Basbas (alto, organ), William Zukoff (counter-tenor), William Lyon Lee (tenor), Thomas McNally (tenor), Jerome Epstein (tenor), Alexander Blachly (bass), Robert Croog (bass), Richard Taylor (bass), Cynthia Schwan (recorder), Lawrence Rosenwald (recorder), David Goldstein (recorder), Ben Peck (cornetto, sackbut), Eric Nisula (cornetto, sackbut), Edward Greenstein (cornetto, sackbut), André Smith (cornetto, sackbut), Richard Taruskin (viols), Patricia Weber (shawm), Elizabeth Blachly (percussion)] - Alexander Blachly, dir.

Recording site and date:
(mostly) St. Paul's Chapel of the Columbia University [1975 or prior]

Reviewed in:
Diapason (#-p.):
Gramophone (Vol./#-p.):

Information from owned LP.

To purchasing information for this LP

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Pierre-F. Roberge