Music in Praise of Women

Music in Praise of Women
The Columbia University Collegium Musicum - Alexander Blachly, dir.
Collegium Records JE 113 / 114 [LPx2]



    Guillaume Dufay
  1. Ave regina coelorum

  2. Anon., Ms. Bamberg
  3. Ave plena / Salve / Aptatur

  4. Wizlaw von Rugen
  5. Minnesang: Loybere risen

  6. Philippe de Vitry
  7. Impudenter / Virtutibus

  8. Jacob Obrecht: Mass for the Feast of St. Catherine of Sienna ("Maria Zart") with Plainsong Propers for the Common of a Virgin not a Martyr
  9. Anonymous lied: Maria Zart
  10. Introit: Dilexisti justitiam

  11. ----
  12. Kyrie
  13. Gloria
  14. Gradual: Species tua
  15. LP-2

  16. Alleluia: Adducentur regi
  17. Credo
  18. Ofertory: Filiae regum
  19. Sanctus

  20. ----
  21. Sanctus (cont.)
  22. Agnus Dei
  23. Communio: Quinque prudentes virgines

  24. Ludwig Senfl
  25. Lied: Maria zart

Playing time: ??' ??"

Performers: The Columbia University Collegium Musicum [Each Collegium Musicum recording consists of 24 to 30 singers and 10 to 15 instrumentalists and may includes as soloists: Constance Cooper (soprano), Josephine Mongiardo (soprano), Imogene Howe (soprano), Louise Basbas (alto, organ), William Zukoff (counter-tenor), William Lyon Lee (tenor), Thomas McNally (tenor), Jerome Epstein (tenor), Alexander Blachly (bass), Robert Croog (bass), Richard Taylor (bass), Cynthia Schwan (recorder), Lawrence Rosenwald (recorder), David Goldstein (recorder), Ben Peck (cornetto, sackbut), Eric Nisula (cornetto, sackbut), Edward Greenstein (cornetto, sackbut), André Smith (cornetto, sackbut), Richard Taruskin (viols), Patricia Weber (shawm), Elizabeth Blachly (percussion)] - Alexander Blachly, dir.

Recording site and date:
(mostly) St. Paul's Chapel of the Columbia University [1975 or prior]

Reviewed in:
Diapason (#-p.):
Gramophone (Vol./#-p.):

Information from owned LP.

To purchasing information for this LP

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Pierre-F. Roberge