The Fall of Constantinople

The Fall of Constantinople
Capella Romana – Alexander Lingas, dir.
Capella Romana 402 [CD]


    Anon.: Hierarchical Entrance Rite for a Byzantine Divine Liturgy
  1. Introit for Sundays
  2. Hymn to the Resurrection
  3. Imperial Acclamations for Constantine XI Paleologos
  4. Glory. Both now
  5. Kontakion of the Mother of God, Mode Plagal 4
  6. Hierarchical Trisagion
  7. Dynamis

  8. Guillaume Dufay
  9. Vasilissa ergo gaude

  10. Manuel Gazes the Lampadarios
  11. Hymn for Great Compline

  12. Guillaume Dufay
  13. Apostolo glorioso

  14. Anon.
  15. Kyrie: Cunctipotens Genitor

  16. Guillaume Dufay
  17. Ecclesiae militantis

  18. Plousiadenos
  19. Canon in honour of Thomas Aquinas: Ode I
  20. Communion Verse for Mid-Pentecost
  21. Canon for the Council of Florence: Ode 5

  22. Manuel Chrysaphes the Lampadarios
  23. Lament for the Fall of Constantinople

  24. Guillaume Dufay
  25. Lamentatio sacrae Matris Ecclesiae Constantinopolitane

Capella Romana
Alexander Lingas, dir.

Playing time: 74'

Recording site and date:
Unknown [2008 or prior];
Rel.: 2009 or prior

Reviewed in:
Gramophone (Vol./#-p.): 86/1043-95 (April 2009)

Information from Gramophone.

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Pierre-F. Roberge