Merry it is While Summer Lasts

Merry it is While Summer Lasts
A collection of medieval and traditional music from the Spring and Summer Festivals
St. George's Canzona – John Sothcott, dir.
CRD 1112 [LP]
CRD 3412 [CD]
CRD C 4112 [Cassette]
Musical Heritage Society MHS 7130 [LP]


    Raimbaut de Vaqueiras
  1. Kalenda Maya

  2. Moniot d'Arras
  3. Ce fut en mai

  4. Anon.
  5. Estampie reale

  6. Anon., England, ca 1225, Oxford Bodleian Library
  7. Miri it is while sumer ilast

  8. Anon., ca 1400, Oxford Ms
  9. Ye have so longe keepyt o

  10. Anon., England, ca 1400, Cambridge Ms
  11. Me lyketh ever the lenger the bet

  12. Anon., ca 1400, British Museum Ms
  13. Chominciamento di gioia

  14. Walther von der Vogelweide
  15. Unter den linden

  16. Anon., 14th c.
  17. Amour mi fa cantar

  18. Francesco Landini
  19. L'alma mia piange

  20. Trad., England
  21. Cuckoo's nest
  22. Morris dance: Trunkles

  23. Trad.
  24. The cuckoo

  25. Trad.
  26. The merry Sherwood rangers

Playing time: 47' 22"

St. George's Canzona
Ray Atfield (baritone, hurdy-gurdy, tabor, nakers, tambourine), John Grubb (citoles, harp, lute), Derek Harrison (counter-tenor, rebec), Rosemary Harrison (soprano, percussion), Michael Oxenham (recorders, shawm, pipe and tabor), Michael Sargeant (bagpipes, recorders), John Sothcott (vielle)
John Sothcott, dir.

Recording site and date:
Church of St. James, Clerkenwell, London, UK [05/1982];
Rel.: 1983

Reviewed in:
Diapason (#-p.): 364-230 ( 198)
Gramophone (Vol./#-p.): 61/732- (may 1984); 63/755- (april 1986)

Information from LP and CD.
Although tracks 7 and 14 are not listed on the LP album, they appear on LP label.

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Pierre-F. Roberge