Medieval Songs and Dances

Medieval Songs and Dances
St. George's Canzona - John Sothcott, dir.
CRD 11 21 [LP]
CRD 34 21 [CD]
CRD 41 21 [Cassette]
Impressions 95020 [CD]
Musical Heritage Society 7561H [LP]
Musical Heritage Society 9561K [Cassette]


    Anon., Italy, 14th c.:
  1. Lamento di Tristano

  2. Perrin d'Agincourt:
  3. Quant voi en la fin d'este

  4. Anon., Troubadour France, late 12th c.:
  5. Pastourelle: L'autrier m'iere levaz

  6. Anon. France, 13th c.:
  7. Estampie real

  8. Anon., England, late 13th c.:
  9. Edi beo thu hevene quene

  10. Anon., England, early 13th c.:
  11. Eyns ne soy ke pleynte fu

  12. Anon., France, 13th c.:
  13. Estampie real
  14. Estampie real

  15. Alfonso el Sabio (attr.), Escurial MS: Cantigas de Santa Maria
  16. Cantiga 207: Se ome fezer de grado
  17. Cantiga 29: Nas mentes sempre teer

  18. Anon., France, 13th c.:
  19. Estampie real

  20. Alfonso el Sabio (attr.), Escurial MS: Cantigas de Santa Maria
  21. Cantiga 166: Como poden per sas culpas
  22. Cantiga 139: Maravillosos et piadosos

  23. Anon., Italy, 14th c.:
  24. Tre fontane

Playing time: 49' 47"

Performers: St. George's Canzona [Ray Attfield (baritone, nakers, tabor), Cecil Elliston Ball (tenor), John Grubb (citoles, harp), Derek Harrison (counter-tenor), Rosemary Harrison (soprano), Michael Oxenham (recorders, pipe, tabor), Michael Sargeant (bagpipe, flute, rotte, recorders), John Sothcott (vieles, mandola)] - John Sothcott, dir.

Recording site and date:
Church of St. James, Clerkenwell, London [1985 or prior]

Re-issue: none

Compilation: none

Excerpts: none

Reviewed in:
Diapason (#-p.): 318-118 (july/august 1986)
Gramophone (Vol./#-p.): 63/749-750 (oct. 1985), 63/754-1190 (march 1986)
Fanfare (Vol./#-p.):

Information from owned CD & Jorge Salazar.

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Pierre-F. Roberge