Victoria - des Prez

Motets by Victoria and Josquin des Prez
Schola Cantorum Copenhagen - Bernhard Lewkovitch, cond.
Danacord DACOCD 390


    Tomas Luis de Victoria:
  1. Motet: Eram quasi agnus
  2. Motet: Tamquam ad latronem
  3. Motet: Caligaverunt oculi mei
  4. Motet: Astiterunt reges terrae
  5. Motet: Sepulto Domino
  6. Motet: Vere langores
  7. Motet: O vos omnes
  8. Motet: Sancta Maria
  9. Motet: Senex puerum portabat
  10. Motet: Domine, non sum dignus

  11. Josquin des Prez:
  12. Motet: Tu solus
  13. Motet: Christi, Fili Dei
  14. Motet: Mente tota
  15. Motet: Tu pauperum refugium
  16. Motet: O Domine Jesu Christe
  17. Motet: Qui jacuisti mortuus

Playing time: 65' 40"

Schola Cantorum Copenhagen [Nadja Ulla Israel (soprano), Signe Engberg (soprano), Magna Blanke (soprano), Stephen Ker (alto), Martin Lewkovitch (alto), Helge Amossen (alto), Jørn Jørkov (alto), Stefan Haugland (tenor), Finn Kyllesbeck (tenor), Helger Nørgaard (bass), Aage Christensen (bass), Claus Kofod (bass), Patric Cushion (bass), Bernhard Lewkovitch (bass)] - Bernhard Lewkovitch, cond.

Recording site and date:
[1]-[7] Christianskirche, Copenhagen, Denmark [1987]
[8]-[16] Christianskirche, Copenhagen, Denmark [04/1984]

[11]-[16] EMI LP 270 166-1 [LP] Motets by Victoria and Josquin des Prez

Reviewed in:
Diapason (#-p.):
Gramophone (Vol./#-p.): 70/838-145
Fanfare (Vol./#-p).: 18/5- (may/june 1995)

Information from owned CD. Reference to the LP appears in the backcover of the CD Box. The backcover of the box is rather obscure stating that tracks [8]-[10] were recorded at the same time as Josquin's motets, but the inner booklet leads us to believe that Victoria's section has been all recorded in 1987!

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Pierre-F. Roberge