The Earliest Consort Music for Viols

Mynstrelles with Straunge Sounds
The Earliest Consort Music for Viols
Clare Wilkinson / Rose Consort of Viols
Delphian 34169


  1. Anon: And I were a maiden
  2. Anon: De tous biens plaine (a 4)
  3. Anon: Fortuna desperata (a 4)
  4. Henry VIII: Helas madame
  5. Ghizeghem: De tous biens plaine
  6. Josquin: De tous biens plaine (a 3)
  7. Busnoys: Fortune esperée
  8. Josquin: Fortuna desperata (a 3)
  9. Peñalosa: Vita dulcedo / Agnus Dei II (from Missa Ave Maria)
  10. Agricola: Cecus non iudicat de coloribus
  11. Encina: Triste España
  12. Martini: Des biens amors (a 4)
  13. Martini: La Martinella
  14. Josquin: In te Domine speravi
  15. Anon: In te Domine sperabo
  16. Anon: La quercia
  17. Anon: Biblis
  18. Encina: Fata la parte
  19. Anon: La Spagna
  20. Ponce: La mi sola Laureola
  21. Cornysh: Fa la sol
  22. Anchieta: Con amores, la mi madre
  23. Isaac: Agnus Dei II (from Missa La Spagna)
  24. Josquin: Adieu mes amours

Performers: Clare Wilkinson (mezzo-soprano); John Bryan, Alison Crum, Andrew Kerr, Roy Marks (viols)

Playing time: 67'

Recording date: November 2014 (Somerset); released: 2015

Other recordings by the Rose Consort on this label:

An Emerald in a Work of Gold
Music from the Dow Partbooks
Rose Consort of Viols
Delphian 34115
Music from Renaissance Europe on Venetian Viols
Rose Consort of Viols
Delphian 34149
Music from the Baldwin Partbooks
The Marian Consort - Rory McCleery / Rose Consort of Viols
Delphian 34160

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Todd M. McComb