Dowland lute music

Lute Music of John Dowland
Ronn McFarlane
Dorian 90148


  1. Sir John Smith's Almain
  2. Captain Digorie Piper's Galliard
  3. My Lord Willoughby's Welcome Home
  4. Melancholy Galliard
  5. My Lady Hunsdon's Puffe
  6. Piper's Pavan
  7. The Earl of Essex Galliard
  8. Fantasie #1
  9. Fortune My Foe
  10. Lady Laiton's Almain
  11. Lachrimae
  12. Queen Elizabeth's Galliard
  13. Tarleton's Resurrection
  14. Mrs. Winter's Jump
  15. Preludium
  16. Dowland's Galliard
  17. Go From My Window
  18. Round Battle Galliard
  19. What if a Day
  20. The Shoemaker's Wife
  21. A Fancy #5
  22. Mr. Dowland's Midnight
  23. Dr. Case's Pavan
  24. Orlando Sleepeth
  25. Lady Clifton's Spirit
  26. Semper Dowland, Semper Dolens
  27. The Frog Galliard
  28. Mrs. White's Nothing

Instrument: 8-course Lute (Andrew Rutherford, 1986)

Playing time: 67'

Recording date: June 1990

McFarlane is a very colorful player, but lacks formal insight, in my opinion. Nonetheless, his technical prowess is impressive, as is the large selection on this disc.

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Todd M. McComb