A Renaissance Christmas

A Renaissance Christmas
New York's Ensemble for Early Music - Frederick Renz, dir.
Ex Cathedra EC-9003 (70070-29003-2) [CD]


    Anon., 15th c.
  1. Hail Mary full of grace
  2. Nowell: Tidings true
  3. Carols: There is no rose

  4. Antoine Busnois
  5. Motet: Noel, noel

  6. Anon.
  7. Noel: C'était a l'heure

  8. Antoine Brumel
  9. Motet: Noe, noe

  10. Anon., 15th c.
  11. Lullay: Als I lay
  12. Nowell: Out of your sleep
  13. Marvel not, Joseph
  14. Carol, Alleluia: A newe work

  15. Guillaume Dufay
  16. Hymn: Conditor alme siderunt

  17. Henry VIII
  18. Carol: Green groweth the holly
  19. Instrumental consort: Taunder naken

  20. King Henry VIII's Book
  21. Sweet Jesus

  22. Anon., pub. 1556
  23. E la don don
  24. Villancicos: Riu, riu, chiu

  25. Anon., arr. Praetorius
  26. Est is ein' Ros'

  27. Anon., pub. 1591
  28. Coventry Carol

  29. Anon.
  30. Melody: Josef lieber

  31. Giovanni Perluigi da Palestrina
  32. Motet: Hodie Christus natus est

  33. Anon.
  34. Melody: In dulci jubilo

  35. John Attey
  36. Lute song: Sweet was the song

  37. Anon., arr. Thysius Lute-Book, ca 1600
  38. Ballad tune: Greensleeves

  39. Michael Praetorius
  40. Motet: Psallite unigenite

  41. Thoinot Arbeau
  42. Dance tune: Branle de l'Official

Playing time: 65' 45"

New York's Ensemble for Early Music
Todd Frizzell (tenor, harp), Wayne Hankin (winds, tenor), Dan Rigazzi (tenor), Mark Rimple (alto, lute), Mark Sullivan (bass-baritone), Jon Szabo (bass-baritone, vielle)
Frederick Renz, dir.

Recording site and date:
St. James Chapel of the Cathedral of St. John the Divine, New York City, NY, USA [06/2000];
Rel.: 2000

Reviewed in:
Diapason (#-p.):
Gramophone (Vol./#-p.):
Fanfare (Vol./#-p.):
Goldberg (#-p.):

Information from CD.

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Pierre-F. Roberge