In Paradisium

In Paradisium
Music of Victoria and Palestrina
17 Century French Chant of the Requiem with polyphony by Tomás Luis de Victoria and Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina
Hilliard Ensemble
ECM "New Series" 1653 (457851-2)


  1. Taedet Animam Meam (Officium defunctorum 1605)
  2. Introitus
  3. Kyrie
  4. Domine Quando Veneris
  5. Graduale
  6. Libera Me Domine (Officium defunctorum 1592)
  7. Tractus
  8. Ad Dominum Cum Tribularer Clamavi
  9. Sequentia
  10. Offertorium
  11. Peccantem Me Quotidie (Officium defunctorum 1592)
  12. Benedictus
  13. Heu Mihi Domine
  14. Agnus Dei
  15. Communio
  16. Libera Me Domine

Performers: David James (counter-tenor), Rogers Covey-Crump (tenor), John Potter (tenor), Gordon Jones (baritone)

Playing time: 75'

Recording date: September 1997 (Monastery of St. Gerold); released: 2000

The chant is taken from a copy of the Graduale Romanum from Toul, Meurthe-et-Moselle, in France, dated 1627. Information from Stefan in Germany.

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Todd M. McComb