The Famous "Chant" CD

The Benedictine Monks of Santo Domingo de Silos - Ismael Fernández de la Cuesta & Francisco Lara
EMI Angel 55138


  1. Introit: Puer natus est nobis (modo vii)
  2. Gradual: Os iusti (modo i)
  3. Gradual: Christus factus est pro nobis (modo v)
  4. Psalm 132: Mandatum novum do vobis (modo iii)
  5. Responsory: Media vita in morte sumus (modo iv)
  6. Alleluia beatus vir qui suffert (modo i)
  7. Introit: Spiritus domini (modo viii)
  8. Offertory: Improperium (modo viii)
  9. Gradual: Laetatus sum (modo vii)
  10. Kyrie XI (modo i)
  11. Ritmo: Puer natus in Bethlehem (modo i)
  12. Gradual: Jacta cogitatum tuum (modo vii)
  13. Responsory: Verbum caro factum est (modo viii)
  14. Psalm 99: Genuit puerpera regem (modo ii)
  15. Gradual: Oculi omnium (modo vii)
  16. Sequence: Ave mundi spes Maria (modos vii & viii)
  17. Trope: Kyrie fons bonitatis (modo iii)
  18. Sequence: Veni sancte spiritus (modo i)
  19. Antiphon: Hosanna filio David (modo vii)

Playing time: 58'

Recording dates: 1973, 1980-2 (compilation of Spanish recordings); Released: 1994

The fame of this CD is such that we must make mention of it. There are literally dozens of chant CDs which would be indistinguishable (hype aside) to the majority of the people who bought this one.

From the perspective of the early music community, there is nothing at all remarkable about the "Chant" CD -- it is a recording of chant that has its merits, makes no special interpretive choices (there are dozens of other recordings which feature actual monks), and is generally unassuming in every way. It's phenomenal success remains something of a mystery, aside from the public's apparent yearning for music in this general style.

The next volume:

Chant II
The Benedictine Monks of Santo Domingo de Silos - Ismael Fernández de la Cuesta
EMI Angel 55504

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Todd M. McComb