E tempore emergo

E tempore emergo
Suoni e Strumenti dell'antica Roma
Lvdi scænici
World WCD 2162
Emmuty Records VE 003


  1. Triumphe
  2. Carpe Diem
  3. Calpurnia
  4. In Nomine Bacchi
  5. Pan et Lucus
  6. Sibylla
  7. Tarantara
  8. Ipse Lyra
  9. Arethusa
  10. Bucinatores
  11. Tibiae Sonant
  12. Prex
  13. Parce Sepulto
  14. E Tempore Emergo
  15. Soracte
  16. Cantus Sirenius
  17. Ludi Circemses
  18. Extasis

Cristina Majero (tibiae, fistulae, lyra, syrinx, bucina, vox, tympanum), Roberto Stanco (tibiae, fistulae, lyra, bucina, tympanum, scabillum, rhombus), Gaetano Delfini (tuba, bucina, sistrum), Marco Brunelli (cornu, bucina, crotala), Daniele Ercoli (obliquum calamum, tympanum), Anna Cirigliano (danza, cymbala, tintinnabulum), Paola Nappi (danza, cymbala, tintinnabulum)

Playing time: 55' 28"

Recording site and date:
Kiki Studio, ??? [2001 or prior], rel.: 2001

Information from owned CD.
There is no Emmuty label number on the CD, VE 003 is the catalogue number.
In 364 BC. Rome was afflicted by a terrible pestilence. In order to appease the anger of the Gods, LVDI SCÆNICI were created which featured "Ludiones" (Etruscan dancers and actors) who "dancing to the sound of tibia without singing themselves and without miming the meaning of the sound, moved, not without grace, in Etruscan manner" (Livy VII, 2)
Some musical instruments of that period have survived and there is an abundance of figurative illustrations. This material together with description by Latin authors has enabled us (Lvdi Scænici) to reconstruct these instruments and therefore allow us to here (sic!) their sounds and combinations. We are able to reproduce a plausible choreography thanks to the large number of image of dance. (from CD leaflet).

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Pierre-F. Roberge