D'Anglebert - Works for keyboard

Jean-Henry d'Anglebert - Pièces pour clavier
Scott Ross
Erato "Musifrance" 2292 45007-2 [CDx2]
Erato "Musifrance" 2292 45007-4 [Cass.x2]


    CD / Cassette - 1

    Jean-Henri d'Anglebert

    Première Suite

  1. Prélude
  2. Allemande
  3. Courante
  4. Double de la Courante
  5. Deuxième Courante
  6. Troisième Courante
  7. Sarabande
  8. Gigue
  9. Deuxième Gigue
  10. Gaillarde
  11. Chaconne Rondeau
  12. Gavotte
  13. Menuet
  14. Deuxième Suite

  15. Prélude
  16. Allemande
  17. Courante
  18. Deuxième Courante
  19. Sarabande
  20. Gigue
  21. Gaillarde
  22. Pièces d'Orgue

  23. Quatuor pour le Kyrie
  24. Fugue grave pour l'orgue
  25. 2e Fugue sur le même Sujet
  26. 3e Fugue sur le même Sujet
  27. 4e Fugue sur le même Sujet
  28. 5e Fugue sur le même Sujet
  29. CD / Cassette - 2

    Jean-Henri d'Anglebert

    Troisième Suite

  30. Prélude
  31. Allemande
  32. Courante
  33. Deuxième Courante
  34. Sarabande
  35. Gigue
  36. Gavotte
  37. Menuet
  38. Quatrième Suite

  39. Allemande
  40. Double de la Courante
  41. Sarabande
  42. Gigue
  43. Chaconne Rondeau
  44. Tombeau de M. de Chambonnières
  45. Pièces Diverses

  46. Prélude
  47. Allemande du Vieux Gauthier (La Vestamponade)
  48. Courante du Vieux Gauthier 1 (La Superbe)
  49. Courante du Vieux Gauthier 2
  50. Courante du Vieux Gauthier 3
  51. Sarabande. Mézangeot
  52. Chaconne du Vieux Gauthier
  53. Gigue du Vieux Gauthier

Playing time: 63' 35" + 60' 50" = 2h 04' 25"

Scott Ross (harpsichord, organ)

Recording site and date:
Château d'Assas - Saint-Remy-de-Provence - Studio 6, Radio France, Paris [10/1987], rel. 1990

Erato 0927-48643-2 [CD] Hommage à Scott Ross - Tribute to Scott Ross: Bach /d'Anglebert / Scarlatti

Reviewed in:
Diapason (#-p.):
Gramophone (Vol./#-p.):
Fanfare (Vol./#-p.):
Goldberg (#-p.):

Information from owned CD.

Pierre-F. Roberge

Jean Henri D'Anglebert (1635-91) represents a certain point of stability in the quickly changing landscape of French harpsichord music. In his publication of 1989, he included a specific table of ornaments, as well as clearly designated suites. Both serve to make his work a reference point for any performance of music from this era. The suites themselves make use of the prototypical dance sequence, constructed individually with a combination of abstract grandeur and personal flourishes. The use of the lower register is particularly characteristic.

The present recording includes all of D'Anglebert's four published harpsichord suites, as well as some short unpublished organ & harpsichord pieces.

Other recordings:

D'Anglebert: Intégrale des Pièces de clavecin
Christophe Rousset
Decca 458 588 (2 CDs)
D'Anglebert: Suites de clavecin
Kenneth Gilbert
Harmonia Mundi musique d'abord 190941
D'Anglebert: Suite pour le clavecin
Frédérick Haas
Calliope 9878
D'Anglebert: Complete Original Works for Harpsichord
Barbara Maria Willi
Musicaphon 56828
D'Anglebert: Harpsichord Suites and Transcriptions
Byron Schenkman
Centaur 2435
D'Anglebert: Pièces de clavecin
Hank Knox
Early-Music.com Productions 7759

Among D'Anglebert's contemporaries, Nicolas Lebègue probably stand out most as a composer for harpsichord. A fine recording:

Lebègue: Pièces de Clavessin
Bibiane Lapointe
Pierre Vérany 796101

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Todd M. McComb