Hollandse Madrigalen

Dutch Madrigals
Camerata Trajectina
Globe 6042


    Cornelis Tymanszoon Padbrué (ca.1592-1670)

  1. Sevenste Kusjen (3:31)
  2. Aen Roosemonds Oogen (2:37)
  3. Elfste Kusjen (1:44)
  4. Het Minne-Net (2:39)
  5. Synphonia in nuptias Mathaei Steyn et Mariæ van Napels (rec.NvdMeel) (5:02)
  6. Twaelfste Kusjen (8:26)
  7. Synphonia in nuptias Joannis Everswyn et Luciæ Buys (3:30)
  8. Op de Tweedraght der Christe Princen (7:07)
  9. De Kruisbergh (14:52)
  10. Cornelis Schuyt (1557-1616)

  11. Padovana e Gagliarda 6, del sesto modo (5:09)
  12. Musijck, die ongeschende maecht (rec.NvdMeel) (2:59)
  13. Joan Albert Ban (1597/98-1644)

  14. Vulcaens Winckel (Rec.LPGrijp) (5:13)
  15. Hoogher Doris niet mijn gloedtje (3:53)

Camerata Trajectina: Saskia Coolen - Recorder & Viola da Gamba; Erik Beijer - Viola da Gamba; Louis Peter Grijp - Theorbo & Lute;
Kees Schul - Organ; Mieneke van der Velden, Johannes Boer, Herman Hicketier, Susanne Braumann - Viola da Gamba;
Suze van Grootel, Barbara Borden - Soprano; Stratton Bull - Altus; Nico van der Meel - Tenor; Marcel Moester - Bass.

Recorded: Utrecht, October 1996 and January 1997

Timing: 67:22

Texts and notes in Dutch and English

The Dutch Madrigal was a fleeting phenomenon, enjoying a brief prosperity during the 1640s, long after its heyday in many other places. Judging by the fragmentary state of many of the remaining works, it never attained popularity with the public at large. Consequently a number of reconstructions was necessary to allow the items on this CD to be performed. The composers represented were some of the few of the period interested in setting Dutch poetry, most composers (including Sweelinck) preferring French and Italian.

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Simon op den Brouw