Josquin: Stabat mater

Josquin: Stabat mater
Marian motets and instrumental songs
Cantica Symphonia - Giuseppe Maletto
Glossa 31909 [CD]


  1. Stabat Mater (5-voice motet)
  2. Bergerette savoyenne (4-voice chanson; instrumental)
  3. Ave Maria (4-voice motet)
  4. La Bernardina (3-voice chanson; instrumental)
  5. Ecce tu pulchra es (4-voice motet)
  6. De tous biens plaine (4-voice chanson; instrumental)
  7. Salve Regina (5-voice motet)
  8. Entre je suis (4-voice chanson; instrumental)
  9. Benedicta es celorum regina (6-voice motet)
  10. Fortuna desperata (3-voice chanson; instrumental)
  11. Vultum tuum deprecabuntur: Vultum tuum (4-voice motet)
  12. Vultum tuum deprecabuntur: Sancta Dei genitrix (4-voice motet)
  13. Vultum tuum deprecabuntur: Intemerata virgo (4-voice motet)
  14. Vultum tuum deprecabuntur: O Maria, nullam tam gravem (4-voice motet)
  15. Vultum tuum deprecabuntur: Mente tota tibi supplicamus (4-voice motet)
  16. Vultum tuum deprecabuntur: Ora pro nobis virgo (4-voice motet)
  17. Vultum tuum deprecabuntur: Christe, fili Dei (4-voice motet)
  18. Nimphes nappés / Circumdederunt me (6-voice motet-chanson)

Performers: Laura Fabris (soprano), Giulia Beatini (soprano), Elena Carzaniga (alto), Giuseppe Maletto (tenor), Gianluca Ferrarini (tenor), Massimo Altieri (tenor), Livio Cavallo (tenor), Marco Scavazza (bass), Mattep Bellotto (bass); Guido Magnano (organ), Marta Graziolino (harp), Efix Puleo (fiddle), Laura Bertolini (fiddle), Mauro Morini (slide trumpet, sackbut), David Yacus (sackbut)

Playing time: 69'

Recording dates: August 2018 (Turin), February 2020 (Vicenza) & June 2020 (Turin); released: 2020

Despite the large forces in general, most of these pieces — with the large-scale opening track being a significant exception — are performed one-to-a-part.

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Todd M. McComb