Masterpieces of Music before 1750, vol. 1

Masterpieces of Music before 1750, vol. 1 - An Anthology of Musical Examples from Gregorian Chant to J.S. Bach
Danish Soloists and Ensembles
Haydn Society recording HSL 2071 [LP, mono, NA market]
Haydn Society recording HS 9038 [LP, mono, NA market]
Haydn Society recording HS 7-9038 [LP, stereo, NA market]
Haydn Society recording HSCD 9038 [CD]


    Anon., Gregorian chant:
  1. Antiphon: Laus Deo Patri
    Psalm 113: -Laudete pueri
  2. Alleluia: Vidimus stellam

  3. Anon., XIth c.:
  4. Sequence: Victimae Paschali

  5. Anon., Trouvère, 12-13th c.:
  6. Song: Or la truix

  7. Neidhart von Reuenthal:
  8. Minnelied: Willekommen Mayenschein

  9. Anon., 9th c.:
  10. Parallel Organum: Rex caeli, Domine

  11. Anon., 12th c.:
  12. Free Organum: Agnus Dei

  13. Anon., School of St. Martial, 12th c.:
  14. Melismatic organum: Benedicamus Domino

  15. Pérotin:
  16. Organum: Alleluya (Nativitas)

  17. Anon., School of Notre Dame, 13th c.:
  18. Motet: En non Diu! - Quant voi - Eius in Oriente

  19. Anon., 13th-14th c. Las Huelgas codex:
  20. Conductus: De castitati thalamo

  21. Anon., 13th c., MS M.B.:
  22. Estampie

  23. ----
    Guillaume de Machaut: Messe "Notre Dame"
  24. Agnus Dei (I)

  25. Francesco Landini:
  26. Ballata: Chi piu le vol supere

  27. Guillaume Dufay: Messe "Se la face ay pale"
  28. Kyrie

  29. Gilles Binchois:
  30. Chanson: Adieu m'amour et ma maistresse

  31. Johannes Ockeghem: Missa "Prolationum"
  32. Sanctus (I)

  33. Jacob Obrecht:
  34. Motet: Parce Domine

  35. Josquin Després:
  36. Motet: Ave Maria

  37. Thomas Crequillon:
  38. Chanson: Pour ung plaisir

  39. Andrea Gabrieli:
  40. Canzona francese: deta pour ung plaisir

  41. Anon., ca 1550:
  42. Lute dances: Der Prinzen-Tanz

Playing time: 40' 17"

[1]-[3], [6]-[8] Schola Gregoriana of Copenhagen - Bernard Lewkovitch, dir.
[4]-[5] Holger Nørgaard (bass)
[9] Erling Thorborg (tenor), Egon Sørensen, Copenhagen Univ. Male Choir - Niels Møller, cond.
[10] Christian Thodberg (recorder), Egon Sørensen, Hans Erik Deckert (viola da gamba)
[11] Women's Voice of the University of Copenhagen - Niels Møller, cond.
[12] Christian Thodberg (recorder), Hans Erik Deckert (viola da gamba)
[13], [15], [17]-[19] Copenhagen Boys' & Men's Choir - Niels Møller, cond.
[14] Niels Brincker (tenor), Hans Erik Deckert (viola da gamba)
[16] Dagmar Schou (contralto), Christian Thodberg (recorder)
[20] Copenhagen Univ. Choir - Niels Møller, cond.
[21] F. Viderø (organ)
[22] Tage Nielsen (lute)

Recording site and date:
Unknown [1954 or prior]

Compilations: The LP was also part of a three LPs album with a book of same title by Carl Parrish and John F. Ohl (Haydn Society HS, set HSL-B or HSL 2071/2073). Other LPs later edited in LP/CD versions are:
Haydn Society HSL 2072 / HS 7-9039 & HSCD 7-9039, vol. 2 - The 16th and 17th Centuries
Haydn Society HSL 2073 / HS 7-9040 & HSCD 7-9040, vol. 3 - The 17th and 18th Centuries

[1]-[11], [13]-[20] Club National du Disque CND 4 Histoire de la Musique Vocale.

Reviewed in:
Diapason (#-p.):
Gramophone (Vol./#-p.):
Fanfare (Vol./#-p.):

Information from owned LP and CD, Schwann catalogue and WERM; the quality of the recording suggests that some material was previously issued as 78 rpm but no trace were found of other original recordings.

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Pierre-F. Roberge