Alfred Deller - Portrait d'une voix

Alfred Deller
Portrait d'une voix – Portrait of a voice – Porträt einer Stimme
Alfred Deller et al.
Harmonia mundi HMD 9909018 [DVD + CD]


    Alfed Deller sings in public – captations en public
    Documentary-interview interspersed with the following interpretations:

    Thomas Campion
  1. Shall I come sweet love to thee?

  2. Philip Rosseter
  3. What then is love but mourning?

  4. Anon.
  5. Have you seen the white lilly grow?

  6. Thomas Morley
  7. I go before my darling

  8. Henry Purcell
  9. From rosy bow'rs
  10. CD
    Alfed Deller, Solo Songs

    Anon.: Twelfth night, V, 1
  11. The Wind and the Rain (When that I was)

  12. Thomas Morley: As you like it, V, 3
  13. It was a lover and his lass

  14. Thomas Morley: Twelfth night or what you will, II,3
  15. O mistress mine

  16. Anon.: Othello, IV, 3
  17. Willow song

  18. Anon.: Henry V, mentioned at IV, 4
  19. Caleno custure me

  20. Anon., 17th c.:
  21. Miserere my Maker

  22. Thomas Campion:
  23. I care not for these ladies

  24. John Bartlett:
  25. Of all the birds

  26. Philip Rosseter:
  27. What then is love

  28. John Blow:
  29. The Self-banished

  30. Jeremiah Clarke:
  31. The glory of the Arcadian groves

  32. John Dowland:
  33. Fine knacks for ladies
  34. Flow my tears

  35. Henry Purcell
  36. If music be the food of love (Z 379a)

  37. Henry Purcell: The Comical History of Don Quixote (Z 578)
  38. (Act V) From rosy bow'rs

  39. Henry Purcell:
  40. O Solitude (Z 406, 1685)

  41. Alessandro Scarlatti/Giulio Caccini:
  42. Pien d'amoroso affetto

  43. Alessandro Scarlatti/Saracini:
  44. Pallidetto qual viola

  45. Giulio Caccini:
  46. Amarilli mia bella

  47. Alessandro Scarlatti:
  48. Infirmata vulnerata

DVD: Alfred Deller (counter-tenor), Mark Deller (counter-tenor), Robert Spencer (lute)
CD: See related links below
rel.: 2004.

Playing time:
DVD: 1h 05'
CD: 1h 15' 56"

Recording site and date:
DVD: Unknown [1975], broadcasting [02/1976]
CD: See related links below
Rel.: 2009.

Excerpts from original recordings:
[6]-[10] Harmonia mundi "Deller Recordings" DR 202 [LP] Shakespeare Songs and Consort Music
[11]-[16] Harmonia mundi "Deller Recordings" DR 215 [LP] Alfred Deller Solo - Airs anglais du XVIIe & XVIIIe siècle
[17]-[18], [22]-[25] Harmonia mundi HMU 228 [LP] Alfred Deller Solo (vol. 2)
[19]-[20] Harmonia mundi HM 249 [LP] Henry Purcell - Music for a while
[21] Harmonia mundi HM 247 [LP] Henry Purcell: O Solitude - Chants et Anthèmes

Reviewed in:
Diapason (#-p.): 571-118 (July/August 2009)
Fanfare (Vol./#-p.):33/2-382 (Nov./Dec. 2009)

Information from DVD/CD. Interview by Jean-Claude Biette; direction by Benoît Jacquot.
The CD is identical to CD-3 of Harmonia mundi HMX 290 261 / 264 [CDx4] Alfred Deller – Portrait of a Legend.

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Pierre-F. Roberge