Purcell: The Fairy Queen

Henry Purcell
The Fairy Queen
Les Arts Florissants - William Christie, dir.
Harmonia Mundi HMC 40 1308 / 09 [Cass. x2]
Harmonia Mundi HMC 90 1308 / 09 [CDx2]


    Henry Purcell

    The Fairy Queen
    Libretto after "A Midsummer Night's Dream" by William Shakespeare

    First Musick
  1. Prelude
  2. Hornpipe

  3. Second Musick
  4. Air
  5. Rondeau
  6. Overture

  7. ACT I
  8. Duet "Come, let us leave the town"
  9. Scene of the drunken Poet "Fill up the bowl"
  10. First act tune: Jig

  11. ACT II
  12. "Come all ye songsters"
  13. Prelude
  14. Chorus "May the God of Wit inspire"
  15. Chorus "Now join your warbling voices all"
    "Sing while we trip it"
    Dance of Fairies
  16. Entrance of Night "See, even Night herself is here"
  17. Entrance of Mystery "I am come to lock all fast"
  18. Entrance of Secrecy "One charming night gives more delight"
  19. Entrance of Sleep "Hush, no more"
  20. Dance for the followers of Night
  21. Second act tune: Air

  22. ACT III
  23. "If love's a sweet passion"
  24. Symphony while the swans come forward
  25. Dance for the Fairies
  26. Dance for the Green Men
  27. "Ye gentle spirits of the air"
  28. Dialogue between Coridon and Mopsa
  29. "When I have often heard young maids complaining"
  30. Dance for the Haymakers
  31. "A thousand, thousand ways"
  32. Third act tune: Hornpipe
  33. CD-2

    ACT IV
  34. Symphony
  35. "Now the night is chased away"
  36. "Lete the Fifes and the Clarions"
  37. Entry of Phoebus
  38. "When a cruel long winter"
  39. Chorus "Hail! great parent of us all"
  40. Spring "Thus the ever grateful Spring"
  41. Summer "Here's the Summer, sprightly, gay"
  42. Autumn "See, see my many colour'd fields"
  43. Winter "Next Winter comes slowly"
  44. Fourth act tune: Air

  45. ACT V
  46. Prelude
  47. Juno "Thrice happy lovers"
  48. The Plaint "O let me weep!"
  49. Entry Dance
  50. Symphony
  51. A Chinese Man "Thus the gloomy world"
  52. Chinese Woman "Thus happy and free"
  53. Chinese Man "Yes, Daphne"
  54. Monkey's Dance
  55. "Hark! how all things with one sound rejoice"
  56. "Hark! the echoing air a triumph sings"
  57. "Sure the dull God of Marriage does not hear"
  58. Prelude
  59. Hymen "See, I obey"
  60. "Turn then thine eyes"
  61. Hymen "My torch indeed will from such brightness shine"
  62. "They shall be happy as they are fair"
  63. Chaconne
  64. "They shall be as happy as they are fair"

Playing time: 64' 48" + 63' 54" = 2h 08' 42"

Nancy Argenta (soprano) et al.
Les Arts Florissants
William Christie, dir.

Recording site and date:
Unknown [07/1989]
Rel.: 1989 (HMC)

[9]-[11] Harmonia Mundi "Century" HMX 290 8174 L'Angleterre baroque - Baroque England / Un siècle de musique anglaise (1650-1760) - Masks, Anthems & Semi-operas
[1], [11], [24] Harmonia mundi HMX 290 801 / 810 [CDx10] Prélude baroque
[1], [11], [24] Harmonia mundi "HM-Plus" - Grands compositeurs baroques HMP 390 807 [CD] Henry Purcell

Reviewed in:
Diapason (#-p.):
Early Music America (Vol./#-p.):
Fanfare (Vol./#-p.):
Goldberg (y., #-p.):
Gramophone (Vol./#-p.):

Information from Harmoniamundi.fr and Bn-Opale plus

Pierre-F. Roberge

Other recordings:

Purcell: The Fairy Queen
Amsterdam Baroque Orchestra & Chorus - Ton Koopman
Erato 98507 (2 CDs)
Purcell: The Fairy Queen
English Baroque Soloists - John Eliot Gardiner
Deutsche Grammophon Archiv 419 221 (2 CDs)
Purcell: The Fairy Queen
London Classical Players - Roger Norrington
EMI Reflexe 55234 (2 CDs)
Purcell: The Fairy Queen
The Sixteen Choir & Orchestra - Harry Christophers
Collins Classics 7013 (2 CDs)
Purcell: The Fairy Queen & The Prophetess
Le Concert des Nations - Jordi Savall
Auvidis Fontalis 8583
Purcell: The Fairy Queen
New English Voices / Accademia Bizantina - Ottavio Dantone
Arts 47679 (2 CDs)
Purcell: The Fairy Queen
Scholars Baroque Ensemble
Naxos 8.550660 (2 CDs)

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Todd M. McComb