Festa: "La Spagna" - 32 Contrapunti

Festa: "La Spagna" - 32 Contrapunti
Huelgas Ensemble - Paul van Nevel
Harmonia Mundi HMC 801799 [SACD]
Harmonia Mundi HMA 1951799 [CD]


  1. Contrapunto 46 à 4 - Première et deuxième voix basées sur ré-mi-fa-sol
  2. Contrapunto 41 à 4 - Contrepoint libre, la structure harmonique est plus particulièrement mise en évidence
  3. Contrapunto 105 à 5 - La voix supérieure repose sur le motif la-sol-mi-fa-sol-la, avec une variation rythmique
  4. Contrapunto 101 à 4 - La deuxième voix paraphrase le madrigal "Ahi dispietato tempo"
  5. Contrapunto 88 à 4 - Chacune des voix est associée à une valeur rythmique
  6. Contrapunto 76 à 4 - La deuxième voix repose exclusivement sur le motif ut-ré-mi et fa-sol-la, avec une variation rythmique
  7. Contrapunto 124 à 8 - Contrepoint en imitation
  8. Contrapunto 81 à 4 - Canon en unisson à la deuxième voix inférieure
  9. Contrapunto 60 à 4 - Contrepoint en imitation dans le grave
  10. Contrapunto 77 à 4 - Contrepoint coloré en imitation
  11. Contrapunto 122 à 7 - La première voix reprend exclusivement un la
  12. Contrapunto 25 à 4 - Contrepoint en imitation
  13. Contrapunto 118 à 5
  14. Contrapunto 47 à 4 - Motif en ostinato sur sol-sol-sol-mi-fa-sol aux autres voix
  15. Contrapunto 35 à 4 - Contrepoint en imitation
  16. Contrapunto 40 à 4 - A quatre voix égales
  17. Contrapunto 8 à 3
  18. Contrapunto 14 à 3 - En mesure ternaire
  19. Contrapunto 108 à 5 - Contrepoint très lent constitué d'un canon double
  20. Contrapunto 9 à 3 - Contrepoint ornementé en imitation
  21. Contrapunto 85 à 4 - Contrepoint libre avec des syncopatio particulièrement nombreaux
  22. Contrapunto 37 à 4 - Première voix en ostinatio
  23. Contrapunto 70 à 4
  24. Contrapunto 125 à 11 - La dernière variation du manuscrit
  25. Contrapunto 71 à 4 - Canon inversé entre la première et la quatrième voix
  26. Contrapunto 117 à 5
  27. Contrapunto 28 à 4 - Ostinato à la basse
  28. Contrapunto 104 à 5 - Première et quatrième voix en soggetto cavato
  29. Contrapunto 58 à 4 - Contrepoint en imitation dans le grave
  30. Contrapunto 121 à 6 - La plus longue variation de toutes; chaque note du cantus firmus dure trois brevis
  31. Contrapunto 123 à 8 - Canon triple, souvent à l'unisson
  32. Contrapunto 34 à 4 - Première voix sur la-sol-fa en ostinato

Performers: Bart Coen Peter de Ciercq, Baldrick Deerenberg, Koen Dieltiens (recorders); Beátrice Delpierre, Mirella Ruigrok, Michéle Van den Broucque (dulcians); Björk Frithof Smith (cornett); Wim Becu, Dominique Lortie, Joost Swinkels, Simen Van Mechelen (sackbutts); An Van Laetham (Renaissance violin); Kristina Kyprianides, Piet Strijckers, Paulina Van Laarhoven (viols); Matthieu Lusson (violone).

Playing time: 52:26

Recording date: June 2002

Festa's monumental set of 125 "contrapunti," or variations, on the "La Spagna" theme, was never published, and, though occasionally mentioned by later theorists, was largely forgotten after his death. These variations survive in a manuscript of one hundred, fifty-seven contrapunti on the La Spagna theme and are there attributed to Giovanni Maria Nanino (1545-1607). It has been established that the first one hundred, twenty-five of these contrapunti are in fact by Festa, the rest being Nanino's work. The wealth of invention in these works is astounding, the more so because Festa has each contrapunto begin with the first note of the theme and end with the last, and employs some portion of the theme in every intervening bar. Fully one hundred, twenty-one contrapunti also retain the thirty-seven bar length of the original theme. Festa uses a variety of techniques in composing counterpoint, including canon, ostinato, borrowing (from Josquin's "La sol fa re mi" theme and various Italian madrigals), imitation, and soggetto cavato (the use of Guidonian solfege syllables to turn words into notes; in contrapunto 104, the names of Isabella and Ferdinand, rulers of Spain, are so treated). Comparison is made to Bach's Goldberg Variations, although, if the present recording is any indication of the length of the rest of the work, Festa's opus is slightly more than three times as long as Bach's. Voices are employed on some tracks (e.g., track 28), but in general the works are given a purely instrumental rendition.

Paul Van Nevel's subtitles are given in French italics above. The music probably dates to the 1530s.

Another recording featuring some of this and related music:

Musica Hispanica
Musik aus Spaniens goldenem Zeitlater
Flautando Köln
Ars Musici 232380

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Christopher Schifani