Chant & polyphony from medieval England

The Lily & The Lamb
Chant & polyphony from medieval England Harmonia mundi HMU 407125 [Cassette]
Harmonia mundi HMU 907125 [CD]


    Anon., England, medieval, Worcester antiphoner:
  1. Processional Hymn: O gloriosa domina

  2. Anon, England, Medieval:
  3. Hymn: çe milde lombe isprad o rode
  4. Conductus: Ave Maria gracia plena
  5. Conductus: O Maria stella maris

  6. Anon., England, 13th c., Dublin Troper:
  7. Sequence: Stabat iuxta Christi crucem

  8. Anon., England, Medieval:
  9. Sequence: Stillat in stellam radium
  10. Sequence: Salve virgo singularis
  11. Sequence: Stond wel, moder, under roode
  12. Sequence: O Maria cirgo pria
  13. Hymn: In te concipitur
  14. Sequence: Jesu Cristes milde moder
  15. Motet: Veni mater gracie / Dou way, Robin
  16. Motet: O mors moreris / O vita vera / Mors
  17. Conductus: Salve virgo tonantis solium
  18. Sequence: Miserere misereris
  19. Conductus: Ave Maria salus hominum
  20. Conductus: Memor esto tuorum
  21. Antiphon: Ave regina celorum

Playing time: 66' 45"

Anonymous 4
Ruth Cunningham, Marsha Genensky, Susan Hellauer, Johanna Rose

Recording site and date:
The Priory Church of St. Mary and St. Blaise, Boxgrove, Chichester, U.K. [10/1994]

Other releases (excerpts):
[1], [5], [18] Harmonia mundi HMX 2907546 [CD] Four Centuries of Chant
[4], [7], [12] Harmonia mundi HMX 290649 / 54 Les Très Riches Heures du Moyen Âge - CD VI. À l'aube de la Renaissance
[5] Harmonia mundi HMX 290608 Ancient Voices - Vox Sacra
[4]-[6] Harmonia mundi HMX 290 7210 Anonymous 4 - A Portrait

Reviewed in:
Diapason (#-p.): 419-174 (oct. 1995)
Gramophone (Vol./#-p.): 73/868-97 (sept. 1995)
Fanfare (Vol./#-p.): 19/2- (nov./dec. 1995)

Other recordings by Anonymous 4

See discography in Harmonia mundi HMU 90 7080.

Information from owned CD.

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Pierre-F. Roberge