Puer natus est - Tudor Music for Advent & Christmas

Puer natus est
Tudor Music for Advent & Christmas
Stile Antico
Harmonia Mundi USA HMU 807517 [SACD-H]


    Thomas Tallis (c. 1505-1585)
  1. Videte miraculum

  2. John Taverner (c. 1490-1545)
  3. Audivi vocem de caelo

  4. William Byrd (c. 1540-1623)
  5. Rorate caeli desuper (Gradualia I, 1605) (Isaiah 45:8, Psalm 85:1, Introit, Votive Mass of BVM during Advent)

  6. Thomas Tallis (c. 1505-1585)
  7. Gloria (Missa Puer natus est)

  8. William Byrd (c. 1540-1623)
  9. Tollite portas(Gradualia I, 1605) (Psalm 24:7,3-4, Gradual, Votive Mass of BVM during Advent)

  10. Thomas Tallis (c. 1505-1585)
  11. Sanctus & Benedictus (Missa Puer natus est)

  12. William Byrd (c. 1540-1623
  13. Ave Maria (Gradualia I, 1605) (Offertory, Votive Mass of BVM during Advent)

  14. Thomas Tallis (c. 1505-1585)
  15. Agnus Dei (Missa Puer natus est)

  16. William Byrd (c. 1540-1623)
  17. Ecce virgo concipiet (Gradualia I, 1605) (Isaiah 7:13 Communion, Votive Mass of BVM during Advent)

  18. Robert White (c. 1538-1574)
  19. Magnificat (Luke 1:46-55)

  20. Plainchant
  21. Puer natus est (After Isaiah 9:6 Introit, Christmas Day Mass)

  22. John Sheppard (c. 1515-1558)
  23. Verbum caro (John 1:14,1 Matins Respond, Christmas Day)

Performing editions prepared by Stile Antico (Taverner, Sheppard), Sally Dunkley (Tallis Mass), David Mateer (White Magnificat, published by Staier & Bell Ld.), Mapa Mundi (Tallis: Videte miraculum), and David Fraser (Byrd propers).

Playing time: 78' 09"

stile antico:
Helen Ashby, Kate Ashby, Rebecca Hickey, Kate Hill (tr. 2, 4, 6, 8) sopranos
Emma Ashby, Eleanor Harries, Carris Jones, altos
Jim Clements, Andrewe Griffith, Benedic Hymas, tenors
James Arthur, Will Dawes, baritones
Oliver Hunt, Matthew O'Donovan, basses

Recording site and date:
All Hallows Church, Gospel Oak, London, England [January 2010];
Rel.: September 2010

Information from CD.

Diapason d'or, October 2010
International Record Review 'Oustanding', October 2010
Choc du Classica, November 2010
Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik, Bestenliste I/2011
Edison Klassiek Award, 2011

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Richard C. Vervoorn