The History of Music in Sound, Vol. IV

The History of Music in Sound, Vol. IV: The Age of Humanism (1540-1630)
Various performers
HMV HLP 8/9/10 [LPx3, mono, 25cm, Europe]
RCA Victor LM 6029 [LPx2, mono, NA]
RCA Victor LSC 6029 [LPx2, stereo, NA]


    Italian Madrigals (1)

    A. Demophon
  1. A che son ormai conducto

  2. L. Marenzio
  3. Scendi dal paradiso, Venere
  4. Italian Madrigals (2)

    L. Luzzaschi
  5. Quivi, sospiri, pianti
  6. English Madrigals (1)

    John Wilbye
  7. Ye that do live in pleasures plenty

  8. T. Greaves
  9. Come away, sweet love, and play thee
  10. English Madrigals (2)

    Thomas Weelkes
  11. O Care, thou wilt dispatch me

  12. Thomas Morley
  13. Ho! Who comes here all along
  14. French Chansons: 16th Century

    Guillaume Costeley
  15. Allons au vert bocage

  16. Claudin de Sermisy
  17. Tant que vivray en âge florissant

  18. Passereau
  19. Il est bel et bon, commère
  20. Victoria (d. 1611)

    Tomas Luis de Victoria
  21. O Domine Jesu Christe
  22. De Monte (1521-1603)

    Philippe de Monte: Mass "Benedicta es"
  23. Benedictus
    Agnus Dei II

  24. ----

    Palestrina (d. 1594)

    Giovanni Perluigi da Palestrina: Mass "Aeterna Christi munera"
  25. Sanctus

  26. Giovanni Perluigi da Palestrina: Mass "Brevis"
  27. Agnus Dei II
  28. Lassus (d. 1594)

    Orlando de Lassus
  29. Scio enim quod Redemptor meus vivit

  30. Orlando de Lassus: Mass "Puisque j'ay perdu"
  31. Benedictus
  32. Gallus (1550-1591)

    Gallus (aka Jacobus Handl)
  33. Mirabile mysterium
  34. English Church Music

    Thomas Tallis
  35. Adesto nunc propitium

  36. William Byrd
  37. Haec dies quam fecit Dominus

  38. Thomas Morley
  39. Agnus Dei

  40. Orlando Gibbons
  41. Behold, thou hast made my days

  42. ----

    Lutheran Church Music

    Michael Praetorius
  43. Wie schön leuchtet der Morgenstern
  44. Giovanni Gabrieli

    Giovanni Gabrieli
  45. In ecclesiis benedicite Domino
  46. Solo Song: French, Spanish and English

    Claudin de Sermisy
  47. Vivray-je toujours en soucy?

  48. Luis Milan
  49. Toda mi vada os amé

  50. Thomas Morley
  51. Thyrsis and Milla arm in arm together

  52. John Dowland
  53. Sleep, wayward thoughts
  54. Instrumental Ensemble

    Adrian Willaert
  55. Ricercar No. 7

  56. P. Peuerl: Suite No. 3
  57. Paduan & Intrada

  58. Orlando Gibbons
  59. Three-part Fantasia No. 3

  60. G. Coperario
  61. Four-part Fantasia
  62. Keyboard Music - Virginals

  63. My Lady Carey's Dompe

  64. John Bull
  65. Dr Bull's my selfe

  66. Gilles Farnaby
  67. His humour

  68. Orlando Gibbons
  69. An Allmaine (Cosyn 78): The King's Juell
  70. Keyboard Music - Harpsichord

    Girolamo Frescobaldi
  71. Capriccio sopra un soggetto (Bk i, 1626)
  72. Keyboard Music - Organ

    Andrea Gabrieli
  73. Ricercar arioso No. 1

  74. Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck
  75. Variation on "Ach Gott von Himmel sieh'darein"
  76. Early Opera

    Claudio Monteverdi: Orfeo
  77. Excerpt from Act IV (Part 1)
  78. Excerpt from Act IV (Conclusion)

  79. S. Landi: La Morte d'Orfeo
  80. Bevi, bevi securo l'onda

Playing time: ??' ??"

[1]-[3] London Chamber Singers (with Julian Bream (lute) in [1]) - Anthony Bernard, cond.
[4]-[7] Golden Age Singers [Margaret Field-Hyde (soprano), Eileen McLoughlin (soprano), Alfred Deller (counter-tenor), René Soames (tenor), Gordon Clinton (bass)]
[8]-[10] Pro Musica Antiqua Ensemble - Safford Cape, dir.
[11] Capilla de Musica de Montserrat, Dom David Pujol, dir.
[12]-[17] Brompton Oratory Choir - Henry Washington, cond.
[18]-[20] St. Paul's Cathedral Choir (recorded in Cathedral) - Dykes Bower, cond.
[21] Alfred Hepworth (tenor), Choir of Hampstead Parish Church - Jack A. Westrup, cond.
[22] London Chamber Singers & Orchestra - Anthony Bernard, cond.
[23] Joan Alexander (soprano), Alfred Deller (counter-tenor), John Wynton (tenor), Stanley Riley (bass), Hubert Dawkes (organ), Chorus and Orchestra - Arnold Goldsbrough, cond.
[24]-[25] Frederick Fuller (baritone), Diana Poulton (lute, vihuela)
[26]-[27] René Soames (tenor), Diana Poulton (lute)
[28]-[31] Basle Schola Cantorum Viol Ensemble
[32]-[35] Margaret Hodsdon (virginals)
[36] Thurston Dart (harpsichord)
[37]-[38] Susi Jeans (organ of Marienkirche,at Lemgo)
[39] John McCarthy (tenor), Richard Lewis (tenor), Sidney Carr (baritone), Chorus & Orchestra - Jack A. Westrup, cond.
[40] Arda Mandikian (soprano), Richard Lewis (tenor), Jack A. Westrup, cond.
[41] Norman Walker (bass), Arnold Goldsbrough (harpsichord), Trence Weil (violoncello)

Recording site and date:
Unknowm [1953 or prior]

[1]-[3] HMV-Gramophone HMS 32 [78 r.p.m.]
[4]-[7] HMV-Gramophone HMS 33 [78 r.p.m.]
[8]-[11] HMV-Gramophone HMS 34 [78 r.p.m.]
[12]-[15] HMV-Gramophone HMS 35 [78 r.p.m.]
[16]-[17] HMV-Gramophone HMS 36 [78 r.p.m.]
[18]-[20] HMV-Gramophone HMS 37 [78 r.p.m.]
[21]-[22] HMV-Gramophone HMS 38 [78 r.p.m.]
[23] HMV-Gramophone HMS 39 [78 r.p.m.]
[24]-[27] HMV-Gramophone HMS 40 [78 r.p.m.]
[28]-[31] HMV-Gramophone HMS 41 [78 r.p.m.]
[32]-[36] HMV-Gramophone HMS 42 [78 r.p.m.]
[37]-[38] HMV-Gramophone HMS 43 [78 r.p.m.]
[39]-[41] HMV-Gramophone HMS 44 [78 r.p.m.]

Reviewed in:
Diapason (#-p.):
Gramophone (Vol./#-p.): 35/415- [Dec. 1957 (as HMV HLP 8/9/10)]

Information from the booklet provided with the owned LP compilation (RCA)
"Golden Age Singers" is a name given in the World Encyclopedia of Recorded Music, Third Suppl., but not named in the booklet included with this LP album. Dominic Oldham, Eileen Mcloughlin's son gave me the following explanation:
"My mother is Eileen Mcloughlin who was in fact with both the Golden Age Singers and the Deller Consort. Alfred left the Golden Age Singers and formed the Consort as a male voice only group. He decided after a relatively short time that this format was too limiting. My mother left The Golden Age Singers at the end of a tour and was approached by Alfred to join him at the Consort along with April Cantelo."
The RCA LSC number is presumably the stereo version (from backcover of the booklet) although I am not certain if it was released as such.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Pierre-F. Roberge