Madrigals and Wedding Songs for Diana

Madrigals and Wedding Songs for Diana
The Consort of Musicke - Anthony Rooley, dir.
Hyperion A66019


    John Bennet
  1. All creatures now are merry-minded

  2. Songs from A Wedding Maske, 1607 (Thomas Campion)
  3. Now hath Flora robbed her bowers
  4. Move now with measured sound

  5. Thomas Lupo
  6. Shows and nightly revels

  7. Thomas Giles
  8. Triumph now with joy and mirth

  9. Thomas Lupo
  10. Time that leads the fatal round

  11. Michael Cavendish
  12. Come, gentle swains

  13. John Dowland
  14. Welcome, black Night ...Cease these false sports

  15. Thomas Weelkes
  16. Hark! all ye lovely saints

  17. John Wilbye
  18. The Lady Oriana

  19. Michael East
  20. Hence, stars! too dim of light

  21. Thomas Weelkes
  22. As Vesta was from Latmos hill descending

  23. Songs from A Wedding Maske, 1614 (Thomas Campion)
    Nicholas Lanier
  24. Bring away this sacred tree

  25. John Coprario
  26. Go happy man

  27. John Coprario
  28. While dancing rests

  29. John Coprario
  30. Come ashore, merry mates

  31. Thomas Campion
  32. Woo her and win her

  33. Michael East
  34. You meaner beauties of the night

  35. Nicholas Lanier
  36. The Marigold: Mark how the blushful morn

  37. Ellis Gibbons
  38. Long live fair Oriana

Playing time: 54'00"

Performer: The Consort of Musicke - Anthony Rooley, dir.
[Anthony Rooley (lute), Emma Kirkby (soprano), David Thomas (bass), Poppy Holden (soprano), Jacqueline Fox (mezzo-soprano), Evelyn Tubb (mezzo-soprano), Cathy Cass (contralto), Margaret Philpot (contralto), Hugh Hetherington (tenor), Howard Milner (tenor), Philip Salmon (tenor), Philip Lawson (baritone), David Beaven (bass), Richard Wistreich (bass)]
Instrumental Ensemble: [Mark Caudle (bass viol), Alison Crum (bass viol), Ian Gammie (tenor viol), Monica Huggeett (violin), Robin Jeffrey (cittern, bass lute), Lewis Jones (flute), Trevor Jones (treble & bass viol), Jakob Lindberg (bandora), David Parsons (lute)]

Recording site and date: Church of St. Jude-on-the-hill, Golders Green, London [April 27, 28 1981]

Comments: Information from owned LP. CD issued in 1989.

Specially issued to celebrate the Royal Wedding of HRH The Prince of Wales and Lady Diana Spencer in St. Paul's Cathedral on 29 July

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Jon Stringer