Annerio: Requiem / Motets

Giovanni Franceso Anerio: Requiem / Felice Anerio: Six Motets
Westminster Cathedral Choir - James O'Donnell
Hyperion CDA66417


    Giovanni Francesco Anerio: Missa Pro Defunctis (Requiem)
  1. Introitus
  2. Kyrie
  3. Sequentia: Dies Irae
  4. Officium: Domine Jesu Christe
  5. Sanctus
  6. Agnus Dei I, II, III
  7. Communio: Lux Aeterna
  8. Responsorium: Libera me
  9. Kyrie in absolutione

  10. Felice Anerio
  11. Vidi Speciosam
  12. Ad Te Levavi
  13. Christe Redemptor Omnium
  14. Salve Regina III
  15. Christus Factus Est
  16. Magnificat Quinti Toni

Performers: Westminster Cathedral Choir - James O'Donnell, Master of Music

Playing time: 72:20

Recording date: February 1990

The brothers Giovanni Francesco (1567-1639) and Felice (1560-1614) Anerio were prominent Roman composers of the later sixteenth and early seventeenth centuries. Upon Palestrina's death in 1594, Felice, who had served under him, replaced him as composer to the Papal Chapel. Giovanni left Rome in 1624 in the service of Polish king Sigismund III. His Missa Pro Defunctis is unusual in that it sets the even verses of the Dies Irae to polyphony, leaving the odd verses in plainchant.

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Christopher Schifani