Music for Court and Church from the later Middle Ages

The Spirits of England and France - I
Music for Court and Church from the later Middle Ages
Gothic Voices - Christopher Page
Hyperion 66739 [CD]
Helios 55281 [CD]


    Part I: Fourteenth & Fifteenth Centuries
  1. Anon: Quant la douce jouvencelle (3 voices)
  2. Cooke: Gloria (5 voices)
  3. Matteo da Perugia: Belle sans per (3 voices)
  4. Machaut: Ay mi! dame de valour (voice)
  5. Anon: En cest mois de May (4 voices)
  6. Anon (virelai): Laus detur multipharia (4 voices)
  7. Old Hall (anon): Credo (5 voices)
  8. Anon: La uitime estampie real (fiddle)
  9. Pykini: Plaisance, or tost (4 voices)

  10. Part II: Twelfth & Thirteenth Centuries
  11. Anon: Deduc, Syon, uberrimas (2 voices)
  12. Anon: La septime estampie real (fiddle)
  13. Anon (motet): Je ne puis / Par un matin / Le premier jor / Iustus (4 voices)
  14. Anon: Beata nobis gaudia (voice)
  15. Anon (motet): Virgo plena gratie / Virgo plena gratie / Virgo (3 voices)
  16. Anon: La quarte estampie real (fiddle)
  17. Anon: Crucifigat omnes (voice)
  18. Anon: Flos in monte cernitur (3 voices)
  19. Anon: In Rama sonat gemitus (voice)
  20. Perotinus: Presul nostri temporis (3 voices)
  21. Anon: Ave Maria (3 voices)

Performers: Rogers Covey-Crump, Paul Agnew, Julian Podger, Andrew Tusa, Leigh Nixon, Stephen Charlesworth, Henry Wickham, Pavlo Beznosiuk (fiddle)

Playing time: 63'

Recording date: March 1994

Reviewed in:
Fanfare (Vol./#-p.): 18/4- (March/April 1995), 30/6-268 (July/August 2007)
Goldberg (y., #-p.): 2008, 54-86

This recording includes pieces from the 12th through 15th centuries, although it is principally music from the 13th & 14th centuries. It is part sacred and part secular. Latin works without indicated genres are conducti.

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Todd M. McComb