A Fusion of Medieval-Renaissance and Traditional American Music
Golden Apple Recording ??????
Koch "International Classics" 3-7453-2 HI


    Anon., 14th c., Spain
  1. Ad Mortem Festinamus (instr.)

  2. Uncle Dave Macon
  3. Morning Blues

  4. Diego Ortiz
  5. Ortiz Hoedown (instr.)

  6. Alfonso el Sabio (attr.) ? / Trad.
  7. Cantiga / Ballad of Little Sadie

  8. Anon., 14th c., Italy / Trad.
  9. Alla Trinita / Railroadin' Through the Rocky Mountains (instr.)

  10. Trad.
  11. Ballad: Drunkard's Lament Morning Blues

  12. Trad.
  13. Spanish Fandando (instr.)

  14. Robert Johnson
  15. Sweet Home Chicago

  16. Alfonso el Sabio (attr.) ?
  17. Veille Cantiga

  18. Tielman Susato
  19. Hobokentanz (instr.)

  20. Cliff Edwards
  21. For No Good Reason at All

  22. Trad.
  23. The Devil and the Farmer's Wife / Campbell's Retreat from Red Gap

  24. Trad.
  25. Sales Tax Toddle (instr.)

  26. Henry Thomas
  27. Bulldoze Blues

  28. Cajun / Tielman Susato
  29. La Valse de Bombarche / Ohne Fels (instr.)

  30. Borlet
  31. Ma Tredol Rossignol (instr.)

  32. Trad.
  33. Lone Star Rag (instr.)

  34. Trad.
  35. Ballad: Willie Moore

  36. Trad.
  37. Johnson Boys

  38. Trad.
  39. Beatrice / Ukrainian Tune (instr.)

  40. Anon., 14th c., Italy / Swanstone, Carvon and Morgan
  41. Saltarello / The Blues My Naughty Sweetie Gives to Me

Playing time: 66' 44"

Hesperus [Scott Reiss (recorders, hammered dulcimer, arabic percussion), Tina Chancey (viol, rebec, vielle, kamenj, fiddle, recorders), Bruce Hutton (vocals, lap dulcimer, banjos, guitars, mandolin, ukelele, kazoo, mouth bow)]

Recording site and date:
Unknown [1991 or prior]; Initialy released in 1991, and re-issued by Koch in 2000.

Reviewed in:
Diapason (#-p.):
Gramophone (Vol./#-p.):
Fanfare (Vol./#-p.):
Goldberg (#-p.):

Information from owned CD.

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Pierre-F. Roberge