Gibbons: Madrigals and mottets

Gibbons: Madrigals and mottets
Madrigals & motets, 1612
Consort of Musicke - Anthony Rooley
L'Oiseau Lyre 512 (LP)

Reissued in collection "The Silver Swan: English Madrigals" Decca 458 093 (2 CDs)


  1. The silver swan
  2. O that the learned poets
  3. I weigh not Fortune's frown (the first part)
  4. I tremble not at noise of war (the second part)
  5. I see Ambition never pleased (the third part)
  6. I feign not friendship (the fourth part)
  7. How art thou thralled (the first part)
  8. Farewell all joys (the second part)
  9. Dainty fine bird
  10. Fair ladies that to love (the first part)
  11. 'Mongst thousands good (the second part)
  12. Now each flowery bank of May
  13. Lais now old
  14. What is our life
  15. Ah dear heart
  16. Fair is the rose
  17. Nay let me weep (the first part)
  18. Ne'er let the sun (the second part)
  19. Yet if that age (the third part)
  20. Trust not too much fair youth

Performers: Emma Kirkby (soprano), Christina Pound (soprano), Kevin Smith (countertenor), Martyn Hill (tenor), Rogers Covey-Crump (tenor), David Thomas (bass), Polly Waterfield (viol), Trevor Jones (viol), Ian Gammie (viol), Jane Ryan (viol)

Playing time: 44'

Recording date: February 1975

This recording marks a milestone in the Consort of Musicke's career.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Todd M. McComb