La Rue: Missa de Sancta Anna / Lamentations

Pierre de la Rue: Missa de Sancta Anna / Lamentatione Jeremiæ
Schola Discantus - Kevin Moll
Lyrichord 8021


    Missa de Sancta Anna à 4
  1. Kyrie
  2. Gloria
  3. Credo
  4. Sanctus
  5. Agnus Dei

  6. Lamentatione Jeremiæ à 4
    Lectio I:
  7. Ain.
  8. Phe.
  9. Sade.
  10. Caph.
  11. Res.
  12. Sin.
  13. Jerusalem, Jerusalem (à 5)
  14. Responsorium I (chant)

  15. Lectio II:
  16. Thau.
  17. Aleph.
  18. Beth.
  19. Jerusalem, Jerusalem
  20. Responsorium II (chant)

  21. Lectio III:
  22. Ghimel.
  23. Daleth.
  24. He.
  25. Jerusalem, Jerusalem
  26. Responsorium III (chant)

Performers: Noël Bisson, Melanie Frost, Eleanor Kelley (trebles); John Delorey, Bradford Findell (countertenors), Murray Kidd, Arthur Rawding (tenors), Glenn Billingsley, Mark Risinger (baritones)

Playing time: 65'

Recording date: May & June 1995

The Missa de Sancta Anna (c.1490) is rather forward-looking in its design, incorporating many harmonic effects seamlessly into the polyphonic style of the era, including a strict canon between two voices. The Lamentations are set rather more simply, but are one of the earliest surviving polyphonic examples of the genre.

The attribution of the Lamentations to La Rue is now considered doubtful. They are probably by Stephan Mahu (c.1485-1541).

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Todd M. McComb