Chants d'Hildegard von Bingen - Manuscrit de Las Huelgas

Chants d'Hildegard von Bingen - Manuscrit de Las Huelgas
Mora Vocis: Voix de femmes a cappella
Mathoeus 98 R 2
Mandala 4951


    Hildegard von Bingen
  1. Caritas abundat in omnia
  2. O viridissima virga

  3. Las Huelgas manuscript
  4. O Maria, maris stella / O Maria virgo davitica

  5. Hildegard von Bingen
  6. Favus distillans
  7. Ave Maria
  8. O ecclesia

  9. Las Huelgas manuscript
  10. Casta catholica / Da, dulcis domina
  11. Castitatis
  12. Quis dabit capiti

  13. Hildegard von Bingen
  14. O tu illustrata
  15. Ave, generosa

  16. Las Huelgas manuscript
  17. Belial vocatur
  18. Flavit auster

  19. Hildegard von Bingen
  20. O tu, suavissima virga
  21. O splendidissima gemma

  22. Las Huelgas manuscript
  23. O gloriosa dei genitrix
  24. Ex illustri nata prosapia

  25. Hildegard von Bingen
  26. Cum processit factura digiti dei

Playing time: 72' 40"

Performers: Monique Avril, Anne Alzéal, Annie paris, Rebecca Bain, Isabelle Destombes, Els Janssens

Recording site and date: Church of Saint-Flour du Pompidou (Lozère), April 11-14, 1998

Comments: This recording blends together the two most famous sources of medieval music thought to have been sung by and produced for women: the works of Hildegard von Bingen for her abbey and the manuscript made at and for the Cistercian abbey of Las Huelgas in Burgos, Spain. While all of Hildegard's chants are for one voice, the Las Huelgas pieces performed here include a mixture of monophonic and polyphonic works.

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

William MacLehose