Pygott: Missa Veni sancte spiritus

Pygott and Mason: Music for Cardinal Wolsey
Christ Church Cathedral Choir - Stephen Darlington
Nimbus 5578


    Richard Pygott: Missa Veni sancte spiritus
  1. Gloria
  2. Credo
  3. Sanctus
  4. Agnus Dei
  5. John Mason: O rex gloriose

Performers: William Balkwill, William Bowes, Daniel Collins, Nicholas Cropp, David Evans, George Humphreys, Benedict McCarey, Justin Rammell, Luke Schofield, Tobias Sheppard, Sebastian Thomson, Thomas Waller, Oliver Wing (treble); Richard Hoult, Martyn Jones, Andrew Olleson, David Skinner (mean); Simon Berridge, Alex Hickey, Tom Phillips, Chris Watson (contratenor); William Clements, James Glazebrook, Guy Wilson, Julian Wright (tenor); Simon Birchall, Jeremy Hargreaves, Robert Macdonald, Costas Peristianis (bass)

Playing time: 52'20

Recording date: March 1994

Richard Pygott (c1485-1549) was the choirmaster in the household chapel of the cardinal Thomas Wolsey, founder of Christ Church College, Oxford. His mass setting on Veni sancte spiritus is a typically ornate English festal mass. John Mason (d1548) was a chaplain of the cardinal's chapel, and later acted as master of the choristers at Cardinal College (the original name of Christ Church College).

Another "Cardinal Wolsey" recording by the present choir:

Thomas Ashwell / Hugh Aston: Two Tudor masses for the cardinal
Christ Church Cathedral Choir - Stephen Darlington
Metronome 1030/31

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Ted Dumitrescu