Il Codice di Staffarda

Il Codice di Staffarda
Engarandus / Brumel
Insieme Vocale Daltrocanto - Dario Tabbia
Opus 111 30-162 (Tesori del Piemonte)


    Engarandus Juvenis: Missa pro defunctis (4x3 voices, bass)
  1. Introitus - Requiem aeternam
  2. Kyrie
  3. Graduale - Requiem aeternam
  4. Sequentia - Dies irae
  5. Offertorium - Domine Iesu Christe
  6. Sanctus
  7. Agnus Dei
  8. Communio - Lux aeterna

  9. Antoine Brumel: Missa A l'ombre d'ung buissonet (4x3 voices)
  10. Kyrie
  11. Gloria
  12. Credo
  13. Sanctus
  14. Agnus Dei

Performers: Roberta Giua (soprano), Claudia Gramaglia (soprano), Maria Grazia Liguori (soprano), Stefano Albarello (countertenor), Alessandro Carmignani (countertenor), Gianluigi Ghiringhelli (countertenor), Vincenzo Di Donato (alto), Fabio Furnari (alto), Nino Marini (alto), Gianluca Ferrarini (tenor), Paolo Ventura (tenor), Matteo Zenatti (tenor), Renato Baldassini (bass), Enrico Bava (bass), Riccardo Bertalmio (bass), Marcello Vargetto (bass)

Playing time: 54'

Recording date: December 1995

The Staffarda Codex is housed in Turin, having come from a small monastic town in the Piedmont. In fact, this series on Opus 111 is intended to illustrate musical styles in the Piedmont. The earliest layer of works dates to the mid-15th century, with the present pieces apparently from the early 16th.

Brumel is, of course, quite famous, and this is another mass setting on a chanson of Josquin. Nothing is known of Engarandus Juvenis, beyond his appearance in this Codex, but it is suspected he came from Picardy.

A recording devoted to a later composer, Giovan Battista Fergusio (fl.1612):

Fergusio: Mottetti e Dialogi
Gli Affetti Musicali - Claudio Chiavazza
Opus 111 30-236

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Todd M. McComb