Don Quixote - The Musical

Don Quixote - The Musical
The Consort of Musicke / The City Waites / The Purcell Simfony - Anthony Rooley, dir.
Muscia Oscura 070973-2 [2 CD]


    Act One
    John Eccles
  1. Fanfare

  2. Anon.
  3. Overture

  4. Anon.
  5. Knighting music

  6. Henry Purcell
  7. Sing all ye muses

  8. Anon.
  9. Knighting music

  10. John Eccles
  11. Funeral entrance music

  12. John Eccles
  13. Young Chrysostom

  14. John Eccles
  15. The Dirge

  16. Anon.
  17. The Barber's song

  18. Henry Purcell
  19. When the world first knew creation

  20. Henry Purcell
  21. Let the dreadful engines

  22. John Eccles
  23. 'Twas early one morning

  24. Henry Purcell
  25. With this sacred charming want

  26. Pastoral Suite - J. Lenton
  27. Overture
  28. Slow
  29. Hornpipe
  30. Scotch air
  31. Slow
  32. Gavotte
    Act Two
    J. Lenton
  1. Slow pastoral

  2. J. Stanley
  3. Artful shepherds

  4. Anon.
  5. If you will love me

  6. John Eccles
  7. Ye nymphs & sylvan gods

  8. Colonel Pack
  9. Damon, let a friend

  10. Henry Purcell
  11. Riding through the whistling air

  12. T. Tollett
  13. Hornpipe

  14. Henry Purcell
  15. Lads and lasses

  16. Mr. Orme
  17. Masque overture

  18. R. Courtville
  19. Vertumnus Flora

  20. R. Courtville
  21. Here is Hymen

  22. R. Courtville
  23. Cease Hymen, cease

  24. B. Compton
  25. Happy mortals

  26. Anon.
  27. Come tell what befell

  28. Anon.
  29. The old wife

  30. Anon.
  31. Theresa was a sweet

  32. Anon.
  33. Marcella's distraught narrative

  34. John Eccles
  35. I burn, I burn

  36. Anon.
  37. You can never trust a Frenchman

  38. Henry Purcell
  39. Genius of England

  40. Henry Purcell
  41. From rosy bowers

  42. T. Tollet
  43. Puppet overture

  44. Anon.
  45. Sweetheart, my passion

  46. Henry Purcell
  47. Now sleep my knight

  48. Henry Purcell
  49. While thus we bow

Playing time: 128'12"

Performer: The Consort of Musicke - Anthony Rooley, dir.
[Emma Kirkby (soprano), Evelyn Tubb (soprano), Joseph Cornwell (tenor), Andrew King (tenor), Simon Grant (bass), David Thomas (bass), Roy Hudd (baritone), Andrew Hoskins (trumpet), Mark Hoskins (trumpet), Janos Keszei (kettle drums), Piers Adams (recorder), Pamela Thorby (recorder), Alan Wilson (organ & harpsichord), Michael Fields (lute & theorbo)];
The City Waites: [Lucie Skeaping (soprano & violin), Doug Wooton (tenor & cittern), Roddy Skeaping (bass viol/violin/voice), Robin Jeffrey) cittern/guitar/voice), Mike Brain (bassoon & voice)];
The Purcell Simfony [Catherine Mackintosh (violin), Cathy Weiss (violin), Katherine McGillivray (viola), Richard Boothby (bass viol), Susannah Heinrich (bass viol), Alison Crum (violone), James Johnson (harpsichord)];
Speaking Characters: Paul Scofield (Don Quixote), Roy Hudd (Sancho Panza), Roger Allam (Betterton), Jilly Bond (housekeeper), Peter Czajkowski (Carrasco), Sam Dastor (The Duke), Douglas Hodge (Purcell), Kristin Milward (hostess), Ian Masters (Carrier), Michael Tudor Barnes (host), Bill Wallis (Dufrey), Derek Waring (Slave), Peter Woodward (Ambrosio)

Recording site and date: BBC Maida Vale studios; March/April 1995

Comments: Information from owned CD.

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Jon Stringer