Porter: Madrigals and Ayres

Walter Porter: Madrigals and Ayres - 1632
The Monteverdi Circle
The Consort of Musicke - Anthony Rooley, dir.
Musica Oscura 070993-2


    Walter Porter (c.1587-1659)
  1. O praise the Lord
  2. Sleep all my joys
  3. Who hath a human soul
  4. Sitting once rapt with delight
  5. 'Tis but a frown
  6. Look on me ever
  7. Old poets that in Cupid's hand
  8. Thus san Orpheus
  9. When first I saw thee
  10. End now my life
  11. Farewell once my delight
  12. In Celia's face
  13. Love in thy youth
  14. Hail, Cloris, hail
  15. Young Thiris lay
  16. Thy face and eyes
  17. I saw fair Cloris walk alone
  18. Like the rash and giddy fly
  19. Wake, sorrow, wake

Playing time: 76'01"

Performer: The Consort of Musicke - Anthony Rooley, dir.
[Emma Kirkby (soprano), Evelyn Tubb (soprano), Mary Nichols (alto), Andrew King (tenor), Joseph Cornwell (tenor), Richard Wistreich (bass), Anthony Rooley (lute), Catherine Mackintosh (violin), Susie Carpenter-Jacobs (violin), Alison Crum (bass viol), Alan Wilson (harpsicord and organ), Jakob Lindberg (lute)]

Recording site and date: Forde Abbey, Dorset; 25-28 January 1983

Comments: Information from owned CD.

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Jon Stringer