ZELENKA - Six Sonatas

Jan Dismas Zelenka (1679-1745): Six Sonatas (Sonata a due Hautbois et Basson)
Pro Arte Antiqua Praha
Pony Canyon PCCL-00274 (Japan)


    DISC 1

    Sonata No. 1 in F major
  1. Adagio ma non troppo
  2. Allegro
  3. Larghetto
  4. Allegro assai

  5. Sonata No. 2 in G minor
  6. Andante
  7. Allegro
  8. Andante
  9. Allegro

  10. Sonata No. 3 in B-flat major
  11. Adagio
  12. Allegro
  13. Largo
  14. Allegro, Tempo giusto

    DISC 2

    Sonata No. 4 in G minor
  1. Andante
  2. Allegro
  3. Adagio
  4. Allegro ma non troppo

  5. Sonata No. 5 in F major
  6. Allegro
  7. Adagio
  8. Allegro

  9. Sonata No. 6 in C minor
  10. Andante
  11. Allegro
  12. Adagio
  13. Allegro

Performers: Vaclav Navrat, Jan Simon (baroque violin), Hana Flekova (baroque violoncello), Ales Barta (harpsichord).

Playing time: 110'28

Recording date: 17-21 October, 1994 (Jemniste castle, Benesov).

This 2-CD album of sonatas that were originally titled as "oboe and bassoon sonatas" presents an alternate interpretation of these well-known pieces by the Czech Baroque composer. In the CD notes, the artists justify their choice of alternate instrumentation and also provide an interesting insight into the background and possible psyche of the composer. The combination of instrumentation and the resonant sound of the Jemniste Castle adds a haunting quality to the music - echoing the flavour of the information in the jacket notes. The album appears to have been produced by a Japanese company, Pony Canyon Inc. and also bears a possible series title "Bona Nova EARLY MUSIC".

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Michael Low