Renaissance Motets and Gregorian Chants

Renaissance Motets and Gregorian Chants
Polyphonic and Gregorian Choirs - St, Philomena Church.
(Polyphonic and Gregorian Choirs) 781037 [LP]


  1. Introit: Resurrrexi (IV)

  2. Giovanni Perluigi da Palestrina: Missa "Papae Marcelli"
  3. Kyrie Eleison

  4. Gregorian
  5. Hymn: Ad coenam agni providi (VIII)
  6. Hymn: Salve festa dies (IV)
  7. Sequence: Victimae paschali laudes (I)

  8. Giovanni Perluigi da Palestrina: Missa "Papae Marcelli"
  9. Gloria in excelsis Deo

  10. ----
    Thomas Tallis: Cantiones Sacrae
  11. Motet: O sacrum convivium (a 5v)

  12. Matthieu Gascongne, from Attaingnant's collection (1531)
  13. Motet: Caro mea vere est cibus (a 4v)

  14. Orlandus Lassus
  15. Offertory verse; Justorum animae (a 5v)

  16. Giovanni Perluigi da Palestrina
  17. Motet: Tu es Petrus (a 6v)

  18. Peter Philips: Cantiones Sacrae
  19. Motet: Ave verum Corpus (a 5v)

  20. William Byrd: Cantiones Sacrae
  21. Motet: Haec Dies (a 6v)

Polyphonic Choir - St, Philomena Church
Margaret Geiger, Jean Gillet, Carmen Sturm, Donna Welshhons, Maxine Arnold, Lucy Harris, Miriam Leon, Lorraine Mallet, Darrell Cook, Donald Shelhorn, Richard Sobak, Charles Duncan, Peter Johnson
David A. Dunkle, cond.
Gregorian Schola Cantorum - St, Philomena Church
Charles Duncan, David Dunkle, Jan Gypen, David Novak, Mark Pokrandt, Richard Sobak

Playing time: ??' ??"

Recording site and date:
St. Stephen's Church, Cleveland, Ohio, USA [06/1978]
Rel.: 1978 or later

Reviewed in:

Information from LP.
No recording company named on sleeve or label.
Information on type of Chant is from "A Gregorian Chant Discography", Jerome F. Weber, Utica, New York, 1990.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Pierre-F. Roberge